Author Topic: Freeware Software for Thermal Analysis: Thermovision_JoeC  (Read 58988 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline frenky

  • Supporter
  • ****
  • Posts: 880
  • Country: si
    • Frenki.net
Re: Freeware Software for Thermal Analysis: Thermovision_JoeC
« Reply #100 on: January 13, 2017, 04:43:40 am »
My app is not ready for public use... And I have almost no free time to work on it because of a newborn baby.
But I'm sure Joe will fix this small glitch in his app...
 
The following users thanked this post: dmode90

Offline joe-c

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 289
  • Country: de
    • Joe-c.de
Re: Freeware Software for Thermal Analysis: Thermovision_JoeC
« Reply #101 on: January 13, 2017, 10:34:32 am »
Why Thermal Expert uses two maps? What's the point of this?
Especially regarding such a big difference in measurements between the maps...

Is it possible to display a bit map, but for the measurements use temperature map?
I don't know why.
And no, there is currently no way to use the Byte Map  for display and the Temperature Map for Measure.
Internally a Float map stores the Temperatures. From this map the image was build and the Measurements.
So you can see, what you measure.
Very interesting. No distortion on your version of the heat map.
Do you have any idea why this is happening?
well... I read each line from CSV as image line.
I use that way and hope, other Versions and Resolutions from i3 will work too.
But after viewing your CSV I see, I have to improve the my image acquisition, because the last values are truncated.
spitted values are counted 2 times... this cause a pixel shift and if the image resolution was reached, the acquisition stops and ignore the last values.
Maybe they have only a maximal number of chars in there rows.
The few images I get from my Camera don't shows the Issue, maybe I had just luck... or miss fortune because I don't see this before. :o

Anyway, I know this Issue and will fix it next time.
thank you guys.
Joe-c

Edit:
If you want to compare the 2 Image frames, you should uncheck Menu->Options->"Use Settings from File".
I tried. Nothing changed.
You mean, the image Changed, but not the Measurements?
sounds good.
Or did you mean something other?
« Last Edit: January 13, 2017, 10:40:05 am by joe-c »
FLIR E4 hardware mods 
Freeware Thermal Analysis Software: ThermoVision_Joe-C
Freeware Remote Software for some FLIR Cameras: Ex Tools
 
The following users thanked this post: dmode90

Offline frenky

  • Supporter
  • ****
  • Posts: 880
  • Country: si
    • Frenki.net
Re: Freeware Software for Thermal Analysis: Thermovision_JoeC
« Reply #102 on: January 13, 2017, 06:32:42 pm »
Hi Joe.

My csv files all have a decimal point in numbers and if I want to use my csv's with your app I have to replace all dots with commas.

Code: [Select]
"21.93" "21.66" "21.44" "21.59" "21.65" ...
Could you please add one more setting for converting i3 csv files? Something like radio button... Decimal: O point, O comma

Or perhaps do it automatically by counting number of dots and commas in first line to see which one is used as decimal mark...

Tnx. ;)
« Last Edit: January 13, 2017, 06:34:46 pm by frenky »
 

Offline dmode90

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 18
  • Country: ua
Re: Freeware Software for Thermal Analysis: Thermovision_JoeC
« Reply #103 on: January 13, 2017, 08:26:57 pm »
You mean, the image Changed, but not the Measurements?
sounds good.
Or did you mean something other?
The image NOT Changed. You can see it here
 

Offline dmode90

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 18
  • Country: ua
Re: Freeware Software for Thermal Analysis: Thermovision_JoeC
« Reply #104 on: January 14, 2017, 06:42:20 am »
And no, there is currently no way to use the Byte Map  for display and the Temperature Map for Measure.
Looks like i3 app (TE Analyst) used Byte Map to display and the Temperature Map for Measure.
Using Byte Map to measure leads to huge misrepresentation (+5C versus -22C on the image below).
But Byte Map looks more smooth visually.
So if it possible to find way to display Byte Map and to take measurement from Temperature Map in your app, it will be very useful.
« Last Edit: January 14, 2017, 06:44:52 am by dmode90 »
 

Offline joe-c

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 289
  • Country: de
    • Joe-c.de
Re: Freeware Software for Thermal Analysis: Thermovision_JoeC
« Reply #105 on: January 14, 2017, 09:11:00 am »
Could you please add one more setting for converting i3 csv files? Something like radio button... Decimal: O point, O comma

Or perhaps do it automatically by counting number of dots and commas in first line to see which one is used as decimal mark...
I will improve this, and it will be some kind of auto detect. I thought that i3 use a fixed format with the commas, like the FLIR E4 with the dots.
I'll fix it next time :-/O
The image NOT Changed. You can see it here
Sorry, I have to explain it better. the option will be used each time you load a image. so if you uncheck it, the next image should be load without disable the measurements. In the Video I see it works.
Additional I suggest to use the internal "image Browser". Select in the TE Mode (the last option from the dropdown box on top left), enter your path to your images or browse to it with the folder icon.
than you can just click on thumbnail. its more comfortable I think.

In the next version I have a auto load on switch the "Tempmap only" Option. So the last opened file was load again, with the new settings. so you can easy switch between both frames.
Looks like i3 app (TE Analyst) used Byte Map to display and the Temperature Map for Measure.
Using Byte Map to measure leads to huge misrepresentation (+5C versus -22C on the image below).
I guess the same about the TE Analyst Software.
the main problem is the actual acquisition of the temperature map don't get the right values.
I fixed the shifting issue, but the right border makes problems.
and as you can see, the last pixel on bottom right was a break out (and in your case, this cause the minimal value of -22.6). And it looks like the last column contains not only pixels from the other side.
 :-/O

Joe-c
FLIR E4 hardware mods 
Freeware Thermal Analysis Software: ThermoVision_Joe-C
Freeware Remote Software for some FLIR Cameras: Ex Tools
 
The following users thanked this post: dmode90

Offline dmode90

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 18
  • Country: ua
Re: Freeware Software for Thermal Analysis: Thermovision_JoeC
« Reply #106 on: January 15, 2017, 08:46:14 am »
Joe-c, why measurements from Flir Tools are differ vs ThermoVision measurements?
« Last Edit: January 15, 2017, 08:49:27 am by dmode90 »
 

Offline joe-c

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 289
  • Country: de
    • Joe-c.de
Re: Freeware Software for Thermal Analysis: Thermovision_JoeC
« Reply #107 on: January 15, 2017, 08:57:07 am »
Joe-c, why measurements from Flir Tools are differ vs ThermoVision measurements?
Its hard to say without a source file. If you use the "Settings from File" option this should not happen. But if not, the settings from the "Flir IR Image Grabber" was used to translate the Raw Radiation into a Temperature and this can be different, if the image has another Distance or whatever.

Please provide one of the images with differences.
FLIR E4 hardware mods 
Freeware Thermal Analysis Software: ThermoVision_Joe-C
Freeware Remote Software for some FLIR Cameras: Ex Tools
 
The following users thanked this post: dmode90

Offline dmode90

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 18
  • Country: ua
Re: Freeware Software for Thermal Analysis: Thermovision_JoeC
« Reply #108 on: January 15, 2017, 09:33:50 pm »
Please provide one of the images with differences.
Sorry, forgot to attach Flir images.
 

Offline joe-c

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 289
  • Country: de
    • Joe-c.de
Re: Freeware Software for Thermal Analysis: Thermovision_JoeC
« Reply #109 on: January 15, 2017, 11:03:33 pm »
Thank you.

Tried both images... first the remote Relays. Spot  1 to 6 match after rounding the Thermovision values.
Spot 7 shows a light variation, so I take a second spot (Position x-1). I guess the Spot measurements in Flir tools use the surrounding Pixels to calculate the Spot Temperature, but I am not sure.
Now to the Shoes... Max and Average match after  rounding.
But the Min Measurement is after rounding not the same. If it has -0.02°C less it will match after rounding.
I can't tell you why... maybe the Box measurement use the surrounding pixels too.

so I think there 2 reasons why you see previously temperature differences:
1. you not use the "Settings from File option" and use in that case different parameter for temperature translation.
2. you use a older version than the 1.4.x.x Version. Previous version needs the "Convert.exe", reads only in 8 bit mode and acquire without Distance, Humidity and some other Values.
FLIR E4 hardware mods 
Freeware Thermal Analysis Software: ThermoVision_Joe-C
Freeware Remote Software for some FLIR Cameras: Ex Tools
 
The following users thanked this post: dmode90

Offline joe-c

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 289
  • Country: de
    • Joe-c.de
Re: Freeware Software for Thermal Analysis: Thermovision_JoeC
« Reply #110 on: January 16, 2017, 10:36:48 am »
Here is Version 1.4.2.0: https://goo.gl/eAflgD
better Version 1.4.2.1 https://goo.gl/VXJhou

-Image processing now don't shift the whole values
-each interpolation has his own font and settings
- max and min Temperature Marker in "Line"

New Window: Settings
-combine some global settings (Language, Measurement display Fonts, Temperature Type...)

Thermal Expert changes:
-option "patch Border" disabled (will be improved later)
-option "read only TempMap" auto reload image on change
-option "Replace fist an last Pixel" to fix bad pixels
-now Dot and Comma are allowed as decimal separator and Byte Map separator
-Pixel shift on Temperature map fixed
A problem is still the difference between Bytemap and Temperature map. the min and max Temperature was ever get from the Temperature map. But the Bytemap seems to have a shift, so values between min and max are different in final frames.
Maybe I find a way to merge both to one frame.

Joe-c
« Last Edit: January 18, 2017, 10:16:08 am by joe-c »
FLIR E4 hardware mods 
Freeware Thermal Analysis Software: ThermoVision_Joe-C
Freeware Remote Software for some FLIR Cameras: Ex Tools
 
The following users thanked this post: dmode90

Offline frenky

  • Supporter
  • ****
  • Posts: 880
  • Country: si
    • Frenki.net
Re: Freeware Software for Thermal Analysis: Thermovision_JoeC
« Reply #111 on: January 16, 2017, 07:40:55 pm »
Tnx for your effort. App is now working nice with decimal point csv's.  :-+
 

Offline Jeroen13

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 17
Re: Freeware Software for Thermal Analysis: Thermovision_JoeC
« Reply #112 on: January 17, 2017, 05:44:31 am »
Joe-C it seems that the image rotation doesn't work anymore.

What also would be nice is to show min max temp values in de MeasTable of a spot measurement.
« Last Edit: January 17, 2017, 05:50:28 am by Jeroen13 »
 

Offline joe-c

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 289
  • Country: de
    • Joe-c.de
Re: Freeware Software for Thermal Analysis: Thermovision_JoeC
« Reply #113 on: January 17, 2017, 08:27:08 am »
Joe-C it seems that the image rotation doesn't work anymore.
Rotation an Flip from the mouse menu in visual seems to work.

The Rotation in degree affect only the drawn overlay images. In the Visual image the Thermal image would be rotate.
In the MainIR image the visual overlay would be rotated, but only, if the Visual Overlay is active.
The Rotation seems to work fine.

Can you explain which rotation effect you missed or wanted?
What also would be nice is to show min max temp values in de MeasTable of a spot measurement.
I'm sorry, but i am not sure what you mean.
A Spot is a Measurement of one pixel, there is no min and max. if you enable the min and max Marker for the whole image (Icon with red and blue cross in Menubar), the values are also shown in the "MeasTable". the Coordinates of min and max are in "MeasGrid"->(1) Spots->...
If you want to have a focus on min or max, you can goto "Visual" and select "Value Monitor" from the Select box above. with this Monitor you can select one of the measurements and View it directly.

I hope it helps, if not, give me more information please.
joe-c
FLIR E4 hardware mods 
Freeware Thermal Analysis Software: ThermoVision_Joe-C
Freeware Remote Software for some FLIR Cameras: Ex Tools
 

Offline Jeroen13

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 17
Re: Freeware Software for Thermal Analysis: Thermovision_JoeC
« Reply #114 on: January 17, 2017, 05:49:57 pm »
On the camera tab there are 4 option 0 degree 90 180 and 270 (under autorange thermal expert), in the previous version I used that to rotate the live image in MainIR, but now it does nothing.

What I meant for the meas table is some statistics, so it sow minimum en maximum recorded temperature during the live image. Just like on a scope if you put a voltage measurement and put on the statistics it will record the maximum voltage and minimum voltage ever recorded by the scope.
 

Offline EEVblog

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 26789
  • Country: au
    • EEVblog
Re: Freeware Software for Thermal Analysis: Thermovision_JoeC
« Reply #115 on: January 17, 2017, 06:52:48 pm »
Set this topic to Sticky!
 

Offline Ben321

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 329
Re: Freeware Software for Thermal Analysis: Thermovision_JoeC
« Reply #116 on: January 17, 2017, 08:33:46 pm »
Unfortunately, it doesn't support FLIR One with USB connector (FLIR One for Android). It really should. I don't plan to buy another thermal camera (the Seek Thermal camera, that your software currently supports), and I already bought the USB Micro to USB Standard adapter needed to connect the FLIR One to my Windows PC.
 

Offline joe-c

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 289
  • Country: de
    • Joe-c.de
Re: Freeware Software for Thermal Analysis: Thermovision_JoeC
« Reply #117 on: January 18, 2017, 09:40:57 am »
On the camera tab there are 4 option 0 degree 90 180 and 270 (under autorange thermal expert), in the previous version I used that to rotate the live image in MainIR, but now it does nothing.
:palm:
Sorry, I missed this after working on the Kernel.

Release Version 1.4.2.1 https://goo.gl/VXJhou
-fixed Image rotation on USB Stream
-fixed Scale issue on Time Plotter
-Change some Descriptions in English (in the Settings Window... in German: Einstellungen)
What I meant for the meas table is some statistics, so it sow minimum en maximum recorded temperature during the live image. Just like on a scope if you put a voltage measurement and put on the statistics it will record the maximum voltage and minimum voltage ever recorded by the scope.
Aha, a good idea.
I have some kind of Statistic for the "Plot" in mind, optional, like "Histogram" Statistic.
With the "Plot" (Window:Functions->"Time Plotter") you can select the measurements you want and record it over time.
I can enhance it with a table, containing the min and max Values.

For now, you can use the Plot and open the Mouse menu with right click inside the Graph. Enable "Show Point Values" and if you follow the Measured Line you should see the Values.
Set this topic to Sticky!
Thank you.
Unfortunately, it doesn't support FLIR One with USB connector (FLIR One for Android). It really should. I don't plan to buy another thermal camera (the Seek Thermal camera, that your software currently supports), and I already bought the USB Micro to USB Standard adapter needed to connect the FLIR One to my Windows PC.
I would be happy if this could be done.
To get a driver, use the Zadig Package like shown in the image "FoneTreiberinstallation.jpg".
See Here:
http://www.eevblog.com/forum/thermal-imaging/question-about-flir-one-for-android/msg1040424/#msg1040424

additional I attached my last playground here:
http://www.eevblog.com/forum/thermal-imaging/question-about-flir-one-for-android/msg1115653/#msg1115653

If I have a working sample, I would implant it as soon as possible.
Joe-c
FLIR E4 hardware mods 
Freeware Thermal Analysis Software: ThermoVision_Joe-C
Freeware Remote Software for some FLIR Cameras: Ex Tools
 
The following users thanked this post: Platonas

Offline Jeroen13

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 17
Re: Freeware Software for Thermal Analysis: Thermovision_JoeC
« Reply #118 on: January 18, 2017, 05:02:40 pm »
On the camera tab there are 4 option 0 degree 90 180 and 270 (under autorange thermal expert), in the previous version I used that to rotate the live image in MainIR, but now it does nothing.
:palm:
Sorry, I missed this after working on the Kernel.

Release Version 1.4.2.1 https://goo.gl/VXJhou
-fixed Image rotation on USB Stream
-fixed Scale issue on Time Plotter
-Change some Descriptions in English (in the Settings Window... in German: Einstellungen)
What I meant for the meas table is some statistics, so it sow minimum en maximum recorded temperature during the live image. Just like on a scope if you put a voltage measurement and put on the statistics it will record the maximum voltage and minimum voltage ever recorded by the scope.
Aha, a good idea.
I have some kind of Statistic for the "Plot" in mind, optional, like "Histogram" Statistic.
With the "Plot" (Window:Functions->"Time Plotter") you can select the measurements you want and record it over time.
I can enhance it with a table, containing the min and max Values.

For now, you can use the Plot and open the Mouse menu with right click inside the Graph. Enable "Show Point Values" and if you follow the Measured Line you should see the Values.

 

Thank you for the quick fix  :-+

Yeah I now used the time plotter (very very nice feature) but after I will it consumes a lot of data. I will wait patiently for the statistics  8)
 

Offline slurry

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 157
  • Country: se
Re: Freeware Software for Thermal Analysis: Thermovision_JoeC
« Reply #119 on: January 18, 2017, 07:35:48 pm »
Big applause for your effort Joe!
This is a huge contribution you are doing, thank you very much!  :-+ :-+ :-+
 
The following users thanked this post: joe-c

Offline georges80

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 759
  • Country: us
Re: Freeware Software for Thermal Analysis: Thermovision_JoeC
« Reply #120 on: February 01, 2017, 03:21:36 am »
... and if you like Joe's work and effort... feel the urge to donate some beer/pizza money via the 'donate button' on the About tab... :)

cheers,
george.
 
The following users thanked this post: joe-c

Offline jmaja

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 162
  • Country: fi
Re: Freeware Software for Thermal Analysis: Thermovision_JoeC
« Reply #121 on: February 02, 2017, 01:56:16 am »

Release Version 1.4.2.1 https://goo.gl/VXJhou

I downloaded and unzipped this, but couldn't really figure out what to do next. I tried to run ThermoVision_JoeC.exe, but got an error message "Windows cannot access the specified device, path or file".

So how is this software set up and run? Windows 7-64 and Flir E4.
 

Offline jmaja

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 162
  • Country: fi
Re: Freeware Software for Thermal Analysis: Thermovision_JoeC
« Reply #122 on: February 02, 2017, 08:00:41 am »
I downloaded and unzipped this, but couldn't really figure out what to do next. I tried to run ThermoVision_JoeC.exe, but got an error message "Windows cannot access the specified device, path or file".

So how is this software set up and run? Windows 7-64 and Flir E4.

The first problem was just to set the permissions correct for the .exe .bat and .dll files. Now I got the software running. It says that E4 needs to be in RNDIS mode. So do you need to run FLIRInstallNet.exe and Set_RNDIS_temporary.fif similar to doing the hack?



 

Offline joe-c

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 289
  • Country: de
    • Joe-c.de
Re: Freeware Software for Thermal Analysis: Thermovision_JoeC
« Reply #123 on: February 02, 2017, 09:14:44 am »
The first problem was just to set the permissions correct for the .exe .bat and .dll files. Now I got the software running. It says that E4 needs to be in RNDIS mode. So do you need to run FLIRInstallNet.exe and Set_RNDIS_temporary.fif similar to doing the hack?
I am glad to see you get it working, while I try to reproduce the issue.

And yes, you need to use the FLIR InstallNet.exe and the Set_RNDIS command file.
But this Feature is not for a hack... it's for quick acquire a thermal frame.
It works too with normal FLIR E4, or FLIR i3 or FLIR C2... you just need the Camera in Network Mode (RNDIS).
See the fist 2 images here:
http://www.eevblog.com/forum/thermal-imaging/freeware-software-for-thermal-analysis-thermovision_joec/msg949563/#msg949563

In the "Device: FLIR Ex" is a Console in the Tab "A".
Just enter a command and hit <ENTER> to send it.
To change the USB_Mode use:
use the Command:
rset .system.usbmode RNDIS_UVC
(needs a reconnect, but you can use the Telnet Console and USB Live View same time)
FLIR E4 hardware mods 
Freeware Thermal Analysis Software: ThermoVision_Joe-C
Freeware Remote Software for some FLIR Cameras: Ex Tools
 

Offline jmaja

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 162
  • Country: fi
Re: Freeware Software for Thermal Analysis: Thermovision_JoeC
« Reply #124 on: February 02, 2017, 11:42:29 pm »
OK I run FLIRInstallNet.exe and then from it Set_RNDIS_temporary.fif. But for some reason I got this strange network setting:
Code: [Select]
Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection 2:

   Connection-specific DNS Suffix  . : INFRARED
   Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::c09c:a8f9:19f8:5867%23
   Autoconfiguration IPv4 Address. . : 169.254.88.103
   Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
   Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.2

Obviously there was no IP connection to E4. After some time the Default Gateway became blank and also the Default Gateway of my WiFi became blank. I tried several times and even booted the PC, but no luck. Then I just forced from the PC network settings the following:
Code: [Select]
Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection 4:

   Connection-specific DNS Suffix  . : INFRARED
   Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::d015:8a3:2a86:c1a9%41
   IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
   Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
   Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.2

Now I can grab an image from E4 using your software. Can I record video as well? I couldn't figure out how.

What does rset .system.usbmode RNDIS_UVC do? I tried to run that, but didn't notice any change, except for different messages in the light blue box appearing when connecting the USB cable. Or is RNDIS permanently (after power cycle) on after this? What command is used to get back to normal mode? Now I can't import images with Flir Tools. I tried FLIRInstallNet.exe and then from it Remove_RNDIS_permanent.fif, but it didn't help.

I didn't have any troubles with IP when I did the hack. But then I was using an older Flir Tools version.
 


Share me

Digg  Facebook  SlashDot  Delicious  Technorati  Twitter  Google  Yahoo
Smf