Author Topic: Thermal camera for automotive diagnostics  (Read 5021 times)

Offline ToeorfingerTopic starter

Thermal camera for automotive diagnostics
« on: November 05, 2017, 09:43:51 pm »
Hi, I am new to this sight but have seen many eevblog videos. I have been an automotive technician for 25 years and recently saw some videos on using a thermal camera for automotive diagnostics.  I can see the benefit to this tool in many automotive applications. What I would like to know is what resolution should I be looking for in a camera? Or better yet what is the minimum resolution that would let me take advantage of a thermal camera? Snap on makes a thermal camera but I don't care for there electronic tools.  I have read about the flir E4 and a hack to make it perform better, but that seems to have been corrected in the new versions.  Are the units tha attach to your phone any good? Are there any auto techs here using a thermal camera? If so how do you like yours and if you don't mind how much did you pay for it? 
I would be greatful for any help.
Thanks Chris.
Oh by the way toeorfinger is a game from the tv show Scrubs. :-DD

Offline Mjolinor

• Frequent Contributor
Re: Thermal camera for automotive diagnostics
« Reply #1 on: November 05, 2017, 10:13:48 pm »

The ones that clip to your phone are all you need. Of the two common ones I prefer the Seek but I am sure that a poll would probably split preference slightly in favour of the Flir One.

Offline Ultrapurple

• Super Contributor
  • Just zis guy, you know?
    • Therm-App Users on Flickr
« Reply #2 on: November 06, 2017, 02:35:31 pm »
I'd tend to go along with that general recommendation, adding only that it's well worth getting something with adjustable focus. That will make the difference between knowing "something in the fuse box is hot" and "fuse number 3 is hot".