Author Topic: Thermal Sensor size and Flir vs Seek  (Read 16587 times)

Offline CircaTopic starter

Thermal Sensor size and Flir vs Seek
« on: December 07, 2017, 07:41:19 pm »
I am new to thermal imaging and would like to get a thermal imager for personal use like energy leaks and animals. After researching what I can afford I have narrowed my choices down to two, the Seek Reveal XR or the Flir One (Gen 3) phone attachment.
The Seek Reveal has a 206 x 156 Thermal Sensor and a 36 degree FOV. 9hz/fps refresh rate
The Seek Reveal XR has a 206 x 156 Thermal Sensor and a 20 degree FOV. 15hz/fps refresh rate. (Smaller FOV is better for objects at a distance)
The Flir One (Gen 3) has an 80x60 Thermal resolution and a 50 x 38.6 Degrees FOV (37 deg?). 9hz/fps refresh rate. The Flir also has MSX. (Larger FOV is better for being up close)

Is the larger thermal sensor resolution of the Seek more important than the wider FOV and MSX of the Flir?
« Last Edit: December 07, 2017, 07:50:25 pm by Circa »

Offline Vipitis

• Frequent Contributor
  • aspiring thermal photography enthusiast
Re: Thermal Sensor size and Flir vs Seek
« Reply #1 on: December 07, 2017, 09:09:36 pm »
there is also a PRO version of the FLIR ONE that offers a 160x120 resolution, so 4 times the pixels.

The needed FoV is really depending on your use case. Flower FoV means you can see further at distance - like detecting animals at range. High FoV gives you the full view of something clsoe up, like you don't need to take a step back(which is sometimes not possible).

there are other issues with the Seen, you can just search it up in this forum and learn more.

Offline sstepane

• Regular Contributor
« Reply #2 on: December 07, 2017, 09:12:26 pm »
And pro version offers change of FOV as far as far as I remember.

Offline Vipitis

• Frequent Contributor
« Reply #3 on: December 07, 2017, 09:21:23 pm »
55°x43° it is slightly more.... but the 80x60 flir one also crops in a bit in the app and wasting a few pixels.