Author Topic: 6502 Cpu wanted  (Read 12868 times)

Offline ChopsticksTopic starter

• Regular Contributor
6502 Cpu wanted
« on: February 14, 2017, 05:41:40 am »
hi everyone,

Im studying engineering at uni and while I've been learning to code on MCU's I've developed quite an interest in older 8-bit computers. however I can't seem to find any local (aus) suppliers of 6502 cpu's and related peripheral chips. i usually do a lot of my shopping through element14 but they don't stock these parts so i was wondering if anyone knew of a supplier that sells theses at a fair price or perhaps if anyone had any old chips laying around that they would part with?

Offline FrankBuss

• Supporter
    • Frank Buss
Re: 6502 Cpu wanted
« Reply #1 on: February 14, 2017, 06:36:32 am »
eBay doesn't look too expensive:

http://cgi.ebay.com/170828631732

Just don't buy this one  ;)

http://cgi.ebay.com/192041375586
So Long, and Thanks for All the Fish
Electronics, hiking, retro-computing, electronic music etc.: https://www.youtube.com/c/FrankBussProgrammer

Offline borjam

• Supporter
  • EA2EKH
« Reply #3 on: February 14, 2017, 07:58:04 am »
Turns out Jameco Electronics still has them in stock!

http://www.jameco.com/z/6502-Major-Brands-MPU-R6500-CISC-8-Bit-1MHz-40-Pin-CDIP_43191.html

They seem to stock other vintage offerings like Z80, 6809... No M68000 though!
« Last Edit: February 14, 2017, 07:59:49 am by borjam »

Online Ian.M

• Super Contributor
« Reply #4 on: February 14, 2017, 08:09:30 am »
The W65C02 is still in production, and is stocked by Mouser.