Author Topic: Where to start if I am new in Australia  (Read 8833 times)

Offline RobskiTopic starter

• Contributor
Where to start if I am new in Australia
« on: August 02, 2017, 03:10:12 am »
Hi, this is my first message on this forum so please, don't bite my head off.
My name is Robert, together with my wife we come from Poland and last 6 years we spent in England. Back then, Australia was so unreachable that I wasn't even thinking that I could live here.
Then EEVblog happened and Australia became an option, then a plan and now... we just landed in Brisbane with my Skilled Independent Visa (Subclass 189 (I have my Fluke 189 too  ;D )) and we absolutely love it!

I have a bachelor degree in Electronics Engineering and over 10 years of experience in servicing repairing designing and building control systems for industrial machines. And because it is my hobby, I also enjoy any other repairs on house equipment and cars for myself and friends.

I had a look at local job offers and as usual in this business, there's not a lot happening through the internet. I also consider working as a contractor for post warranty service repairs and automation service.

I need your advice on what to do and if you have a possibility to offer a job, I am more than happy to present my skills. I really miss the industrial environment and I am really curious what's going on in the industry in Brisbane area. Or maybe I should relocate?

Tell me guys what you think. I really appreciate any help.

Offline mairo

• Supporter
Re: Where to start if I am new in Australia
« Reply #1 on: August 02, 2017, 04:00:23 am »
Hi Robski,

It is not easy to find job in Australia when you do not have PR or citizenship and are not here sponsored already to work for someone. I said not easy, but it is not impossible, you just will have to try harder.

For such electronic repair jobs in Brisbane/QLD you can try knocking on the door of companies such as: