Author Topic: lets be honest about resin 3d printed parts  (Read 3967 times)

Offline tbavcevicTopic starter

• Contributor
lets be honest about resin 3d printed parts
« on: January 05, 2022, 04:01:26 pm »
not sure if this theme is off topic here but anyways sorry.. this is not rant it is more something like sharing of what i think about all this after wasting few liters of resin.

since this summer i have been playing with resin printer, i have no experience with normal 3d printers so what i say here is only about resin printers...

everyone doing electronics nowdays can make some realy nice and cheap pcb-s in china,but most of us have problems with cases for same pcb-s. either too expensive or diy route too ugly. to try to avoid that problem i bought resin 3d printer since everything i read on internet states how good how high resolution resin printers have how durable parts are bla bla usual marketing stuff.

have tried few different resins, one basic one expensive and one realy cheap and transparent.

first there is many problems with resin specific settings that manufacturers of resins dont realy go in detail(or no info at all for some) about so you are left alone to experiment with most settings. then there are room temperature that also seem to affect resin a lot and sometimes in weird ways.

then there is zeroing out process which on anycubic photon s is realy simple, but tedious and should be automatic and some form of overcurent monitor should be implemented on motor so that it will stop itself from destroying itself even if it gets command to go too far into screen... also touch screen is rubbish so it misclicks most of the time what can also result in braking of only expensive part in this printer, screen.

now there is resin vat, with flexible plastic that is pita to replace as you need to waste a lot of time doing that, and it is easily scratched or burned(?) by bottom layer long exposure.