Author Topic: Printing a casing for my PCB and sell it?  (Read 2974 times)

Offline dastructhmTopic starter

• Contributor
Printing a casing for my PCB and sell it?
« on: May 12, 2022, 12:01:20 am »
I've never used a 3D printer before. Is there a 3D printer on the market that I can buy and print a housing for my PCB project, so I can sell it on the market? I mean, will the enclosure be good enough to be accepted by consumers?!
 :o
If yes, which one should I buy?
« Last Edit: May 12, 2022, 12:03:36 am by dastructhm »
dastructhm = data structures and algorithms

Online xrunner

• Super Contributor
  • hp>Agilent>Keysight>???
Re: Printing a casing for my PCB and sell it?
« Reply #1 on: May 12, 2022, 12:17:59 am »
I've never used a 3D printer before. Is there a 3D printer on the market that I can buy and print a housing for my PCB project,
so I can sell it on the market?

If yes, which one should I buy?

Yes, sure there are lots of choices. I can't tell you which one to buy now, because the one I use is so heavily modded with custom parts that it isn't something that can be purchased per se. But there are plenty of nice models available now, someone who has a newer one can recommend one.

As far as the housing, if you can't find one already designed then, well, you will have to learn a 3D modelling program and design it yourself, which can either be fun or torture - depending on your skill and drive.  :)

I mean, will the enclosure be good enough to be accepted by consumers?!

"ay, there's the rub!" says Hamlet. Well that's a subjective question. The finish of a 3D printed part is not a glossy smooth plastic surface, it has a texture all it's own. You can look at pics on the internets and see for yourself what they look like. You'll have to decide if it will be acceptable for your customers.

:-//
I told my friends I could teach them to be funny, but they all just laughed at me.

The following users thanked this post: dastructhm

Offline eugene

• Frequent Contributor