Author Topic: Prusa i3 help  (Read 4720 times)

Offline JesterTopic starter

• Frequent Contributor
Prusa i3 help
« on: November 22, 2023, 05:50:43 pm »
I recently purchased two used Prusa i3's a MK2 and an MK2 upgraded to MK2.5S

The upgraded one does not work and I'm looking for a forum where I can get info on how to fix it. I'm new to 3D printing but I'm an engineer so pretty good at fixing things.

So if someone can suggest a forum that would have some Prusa experts, or if someone here has some expertise that would be great. I posted on the Prusa forum, but have had no response to my question.

Details of problem:

Extruder correctly finds home, but then fails at begining of XYZ calibration with "Calibration failed, check axes"

This is a i3 MK2S upgraded to a MK2.5S (with metal plate)

Firmware:

I tried both 3.8.1 and 3.13.2  same results

When I select Calibration | Auto Home,  the PINDA sensor is very close to centered in the target.

When I select Calibrate XYZ, after setting the top Z, the extruder comes down well left of the target (perhaps that's normal I'm not sure) but then stops and throws error  "Calibration failed, check axes"

The PINDA sensor light turns off just as the extruder approaches the table, but then it stops and throws the error.

Not sure what to do next?

Offline jfb

Re: Prusa i3 help
« Reply #1 on: December 04, 2023, 01:41:38 pm »

Offline aeberbach

• Regular Contributor
Re: Prusa i3 help
« Reply #2 on: December 04, 2023, 07:44:39 pm »
Definitely Prusa forums as jfb suggested.