Author Topic: Turning the knop on speed  (Read 2325 times)

Offline Hellmut1956Topic starter

• Contributor
Turning the knop on speed
« on: February 24, 2021, 05:17:43 pm »
Hi everybody.
I am new to 3D printing but I have used stepper motor with Trinamic drivers for close to 8 years. I am aware that 3D printing outcome is a "dance" of quite a few parameters and also involves not only the kind of filament you use, PLA i.e. and what quality the supplier of the filaments provide and if it has been stored in a dry environment. I want to limit myself in this thread to the topic of printing speed only.

The first aspect I want to touch is the controller used being used in a controller board. If speed printing is one objective 8-bit controllers are not an option. 32-bit controllers are the ones to look on. I had chosen the BTT-SKR-PRO V1.2 as it was the only one that uses an ARM Cortex M4 controller in the list of boards I saw on a YouTube video from Kersey Fabrications. It runs at 168 MHz, this data is not even displayed in the webpage from BTT about this one of their products.

Also comparing the quality of the prints of different boards done by Kersey Fabrications there were cases where the computing performance of the controller executing G Code came to its limits when testing higher speeds. Also, it had an impact when the controller had to operate a graphic display that required a bit of processing power from the main controller.

Here I wonder why ARM Cortex M4 dual-core controllers are not being used. These controllers run at 200 MHz which results in >20% processing power and those controllers are not expensive. But also their ARM Cortex M0+ core could be used to control peripheral functions leaving the ARM M3 core to dedicate its computing performance exclusively dedicated to executing G Code instructions.