Author Topic: z-axis limit switches  (Read 7659 times)

Offline r6502Topic starter

• Regular Contributor
z-axis limit switches
« on: September 01, 2023, 11:17:28 pm »
Hello all,

I'm new in this theme - I bought a used Anycubric Mega S.

I tried to adjust everything, but got different result when printing the same part, especial for the 1st layer.

I started to investigate and found out, that the used switches for both z-axis generate a real large tolerance of the final hight compared to  the hot bed.

In my case it was in the range of +-0.12mm, but sometimes it was also +- 0.2 mm. I measured this on both z-axis.

Is this related to the used switches? Has somebody tried to replace the switches with photo sensors, that are more precise regarding the switch position and the repeatability? This should result in more precise levelling position of the z-axis.  The x- and y-axis does not be that imported, as these axis are only related to the position, where on the base the part is printed.

It would be interesting to her your comments..

Have a nice weekend - Guido.

Science can amuse and fascinate us all, but it is engineering that changes the world - - Isaac Asimov

Offline thm_w

• Super Contributor
  • Non-expert
Re: z-axis limit switches
« Reply #1 on: September 02, 2023, 12:03:33 am »
Mechanical switches are more than accurate enough for your average 3D printer. From what I see in photos its a normal metal arm microswitch, which is typically used.

Either:
- Switch is damaged or dirty
- There is mechanical slop somewhere in the system (something loose, broken, etc)

Check that the switch is soldered in place, joints are not cracked, and try moving it around and activating it with your finger.
Spare endstop switches are cheap (<$2), so might be a good idea to have some on hand.

https://3dprinting.stackexchange.com/questions/1109/which-endstops-are-most-precise
Profile -> Modify profile -> Look and Layout ->  Don't show users' signatures

Offline CatalinaWOW