Author Topic: Altium (Disable) Fractal Panel Grouping  (Read 1570 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline cjurczak

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 33
  • Country: us
Altium (Disable) Fractal Panel Grouping
« on: January 18, 2019, 02:49:22 pm »
I am having trouble getting the panels to stay where I want them.  I keep getting panels in the fractal grouping, and its pain to correct.  I have three monitors so I have no need for saving space.  Is there a way to disable fractal grouping, I combed the settings to no avail, but I thought someone else might have some insight how to prevent my panels from getting grouped this way. 
 

Offline free_electron

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 7262
  • Country: us
    • SiliconValleyGarage
Re: Altium (Disable) Fractal Panel Grouping
« Reply #1 on: January 21, 2019, 03:07:54 am »
what is fractal grouping ?
Professional Electron Wrangler.
Any comments, or points of view expressed, are my own and not endorsed , induced or compensated by my employer(s).
 

Offline cjurczak

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 33
  • Country: us
Re: Altium (Disable) Fractal Panel Grouping
« Reply #2 on: January 21, 2019, 01:13:14 pm »
what is fractal grouping ?

Multiple panels in a group displayed at the same time. 
https://www.altium.com/documentation/15.1/display/ADES/Working+with+Panels+in+Altium+Designer#!WorkingwithPanelsinAltiumDesigner-FractalPanelGrouping

I'm trying to have only tabbed groups, where only one panel shows at a time.  But it seems whenever I open a new panel, or rearrange a panel I get them go to the fractal groups instead. 
 

Offline free_electron

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 7262
  • Country: us
    • SiliconValleyGarage
Re: Altium (Disable) Fractal Panel Grouping
« Reply #3 on: January 21, 2019, 04:45:54 pm »
then your option is to make them tabbed. you can have a tab group left and a tab group right.

I too run triplehead. one screen PCB , one schematic , one the rest ( Vault browser , scripts , chrome etc )
in schematic i have on the left a tabbed panel with projects and on the right properties
in pcb on the right : properties,  on the left : pcb filter and pcb

Professional Electron Wrangler.
Any comments, or points of view expressed, are my own and not endorsed , induced or compensated by my employer(s).
 

Offline goodnaysayer

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 1
  • Country: us
Re: Altium (Disable) Fractal Panel Grouping
« Reply #4 on: September 19, 2019, 03:41:46 pm »
Hey cjurczak, to answer your question months later: I also have not found a way to disable fractal grouping.

One thing I found that helped reduce my frustration with windows sometimes getting stuck in fractal grouping is by saving my preferred panel arrangement in Preferences->System->View so I can load that arrangement when they get "out of whack"
 

Offline daves.toolroom

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 2
Re: Altium (Disable) Fractal Panel Grouping
« Reply #5 on: October 25, 2019, 12:19:47 am »
I also had problems with this, but eventually figured out that I need to click directly on the title of one of the panels in the fractal grouping, then drag it away from the other docked panels.
After this, you drag the moved panel back to the docked panel. Make sure you drop it in the middle of that panel (not onto the arrows that appear when you hover over the existing panel before dropping it). It should then appear in a tabbed arrangement.
Hope this helps.
 

Offline henmill

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 1
  • Country: us
Re: Altium (Disable) Fractal Panel Grouping
« Reply #6 on: October 30, 2019, 05:02:59 pm »
I registered for this forum just to say thanks. Fractal grouping drives me crazy! Silly that you have to click the title of the panel and I didn't see that anywhere in the documentation.

Cheers
 

Offline Pseudobyte

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 113
  • Country: us
Re: Altium (Disable) Fractal Panel Grouping
« Reply #7 on: October 31, 2019, 02:24:08 pm »
For all those who prefer to see what is up.

To Setup Fractals:



To Undo Fractals:


“They Don’t Think It Be Like It Is, But It Do”
 

Offline lazerj

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 1
  • Country: ca
Re: Altium (Disable) Fractal Panel Grouping
« Reply #8 on: January 13, 2020, 10:48:43 pm »
Thank you for this fractal panels are the worst. I was getting really frustrated that I couldn't figure out how get rid of them.
 


Share me

Digg  Facebook  SlashDot  Delicious  Technorati  Twitter  Google  Yahoo
Smf