Author Topic: Altium desigwork-flow in a small company?  (Read 1023 times)

Offline Jonson_7Topic starter

Altium desigwork-flow in a small company?
« on: September 14, 2022, 06:21:31 pm »
Hello Fellow Altium users
I have a question regarding Altium. I have recently been hired in a small company as a electronic developer. Im the only developer and the copmany have only used KiKad before Altium. Im new to Altium as well but I feel like im getting the hang of it and I have experience with other cad software before.
My question is regarding workflow. The work I do for this company is very agile to say the least, designs change all the time. Both schematic and layout-vise. I like working like this though. But I feel Altium is in the way for this kind of workflow. Let me elaborate:
When-ever i have to make a new component, which is all the time, because the company dont have a standard library or any templates, then I navigate to explore and push "add new" in the correct component-category, and start filling out the parrameters, or even auto-import-parameters. But the process of making&importing a foot-print from a manufacturer seems slow to me. I either import a footprint from a library-file (but then I have to exclude alle the foot-prints I dont want from this library) or i push the "add-new-footprint" button and simply copy-paste the footprint from another opened footprint. If I see a footprint I like from the components-tab then I cant seem a way to just copy it to my cloud-library or local-library. I dunno If im doing anything wrong here.
To put it shortly, I feel like I spend a lot of time trying to import the right footprints. And it feels like Im doing something wrong.  Therefore I wanted to know if there's any experienced electronic engineers out there with a different take on the work-flow?  How do you add components and footprints, and do you do it often?
Best Regards from a small company.

Online temperance

• Frequent Contributor