Author Topic: Can you overlap rooms?  (Read 1741 times)

Offline audi95Topic starter

Can you overlap rooms?
« on: May 16, 2019, 05:48:01 pm »
Hi, I am new to Altium and I started a project using hierarchical design, so I have rooms for each sheet symbol and I have nested sheet symbols too. If I try to put one room on top another sometimes when I move the room on top, traces stick to the room below, messing everything up.

Do rooms have to be completely non overlapping for things not to go wrong?

Thanks so much!
« Last Edit: May 16, 2019, 05:50:32 pm by audi95 »

Offline ajb

• Super Contributor
Re: Can you overlap rooms?
« Reply #1 on: May 16, 2019, 10:37:45 pm »
In my experience, yes, it is much better if the rooms do not overlap.  Rooms tend to ride the knife edge between 'useful but annoying' and 'too much trouble to bother'.  I suppose if your projects tend to always wind up with functional units cleanly isolated from one another on the board they could be a lot more useful (driving rules for instance) and less annoying, but that's not the sort of board I design as a rule.  It is nice to be able to copy a room layout from one channel to another, though--when that works, anyway. . .

EDIT: Also, it's not immediately obvious because it's not consistent with anything else in the PCB UI, but you can edit the room shape so that it's not a rectangle (Right Click > Room Actions > Edit Polygonal Room Vertices) which can help keep rooms from overlapping.
« Last Edit: May 16, 2019, 10:47:03 pm by ajb »

Offline audi95Topic starter

« Reply #2 on: May 17, 2019, 01:49:39 am »
That clears up a lot, thank you! I have a multichannel design which is why I was so keen to use rooms. I will definitely edit the room shape, seems like the way to go.

Is it okay to have some components outside a room generated from a hierarchical design?

I have a power led in one room that I want on a completely different area of the PCB.

Offline T3sl4co1l

• Super Contributor