Author Topic: Help me translate JLCPBC capabilities to Altium design rules  (Read 673 times)

Offline PiachnpTopic starter

Help me translate JLCPBC capabilities to Altium design rules
« on: March 29, 2024, 10:15:01 pm »
Hello, this is my first time posting in the forum. I am building a very small board (a hexagon shape inscribed in a 25mm diameter) and to make routing easier it is important that I use the tightest clearances possible. So I went to JLCPBC capabilities page (https://jlcpcb.com/capabilities/pcb-capabilities) and try to set the correct design rules in Altium Designer (created the project with the old rules, not the new constraints feature which I could not understand or navigate as easily). I'm having some trouble and wanted to some help to verify that I am doing the clearance matrix correctly:
  • Hole to hole clearance(Different nets): 0.5mm >> Altium shows "Hole" as a row but there is no column, so doesn't seem like I can do this one?
  • Via to Via clearance(Same nets) : 0.256mm >> Altium matrix is for different nets so not sure how to do this one. I can enforce this myself pretty easy for same nets. But what do I use for Via to Via when they are different nets? This is an important rule for my design and I'm lost what to put in the via vs via cell of the matrix. Or does the 0.5mm Hole to hole clearance from the item above apply here? This is what I am using now, and its really bothering me so it would be great if I can lower it...
  • PTH to Track: 0.33mm && NPTH to Track: 0.256mm >> My board is 2 layers, so isn't a PTH the same functionally as a via in my case? The Via to Track capability is 0.254mm. Also Altium has a Hole vs Track cell.. should I set this to 0.33 or 0.256mm?
  • Pad to Track: 0.2mm >> Do I set here both SMD and TH Pads ? What about the Copper vs Track cell? should that one too be 0.2mm ?