Author Topic: PCB footprint error  (Read 2080 times)

Offline ryandsTopic starter

PCB footprint error
« on: January 06, 2022, 05:17:27 pm »
Hi All,
I am a newbie and have a question about an error I get in Altium.

I have the RJ45 footprint in attached image designed in Altium per the OEM data sheet.

However I am getting the DR violation errors on attached image.

I was wondering could I allow these DR violations or should I be redesigning the footprint?

If the footprint needs to be redesigned what would be the best approach?

Thanks in advance.

Online ajb

• Super Contributor
Re: PCB footprint error
« Reply #1 on: January 06, 2022, 07:40:12 pm »
That's kind of a weird footprint.  Are those holes supposed to be plated?  Even if you can get this to pass Altium's DRC your PCB fabricator may reject having copper right up to a hole like that without an annular ring. 

Generally for weird pad shapes that can't be made using the standard pad objects you would use a region to create the copper areas, and then place a small pad somewhere inside that to create electrical connectivity to it (you'll need to set the mask and paste expansion properties of the region to ensure you can solder it).  In this case, I would probably do the same, and make the region follow the shape of the hole (optionally with some clearance around it to make the PCB fab happy, if that will work with the connector).  If you make the through holes unplated that may also prevent the short circuit error, but I'm not sure.