Author Topic: Shared Development and Libraries on Altium  (Read 302 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline lluchiari

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 9
  • Country: br
Shared Development and Libraries on Altium
« on: June 30, 2020, 02:36:18 pm »
Hi Guys...

I'm somehow new to Altium, but I've been studying it a lot. My company has recently bought two Altium Licenses and in the migration process (Proteus --> Altium) I confess I'm a little bit disappointed the way that Altium threat library management. We are having serious problems with shared development and library (we are here in two engineers) and the best solution Altium offers you is to buy Altium 365 and Concord Pro.

Well...I tried all those method (IntLib, DbLib, SVNDblib) and DBLib/SVNDBlib would be amazing if that works correctly. I submitted a lot of cases on Altium for bugfix! And another drawback is that it's not easy to setup and operate. But It's working! (Still buggy, but it's Altium's bug).

My question is....how could I work with more than one person using the same shared library, adding, importing, deleting, updating componets? What's the best way without having to pay for Altium manage that for me?

I talked to a lot of my dev friends and they suggested me to make an SVN repository (could be GIT, it doest matter!) containing an IntLib and all my Footprints and Symbols all integrated and install this lib in Altium an work with commits. But even that I'm very disappointed because Library Management shouldn't be sold separated, this is mandatory in a Electronic development tool!

Is there a better way?

Best Regards,
Lucas.
 

Offline Omicron

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 118
  • Country: be
Re: Shared Development and Libraries on Altium
« Reply #1 on: June 30, 2020, 04:47:51 pm »
Altium 365 standard comes for free with your Altium subscription and does all the things you ask for. Concord pro is not needed, it just adds some enterprise level functionality.
 

Offline lluchiari

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 9
  • Country: br
Re: Shared Development and Libraries on Altium
« Reply #2 on: June 30, 2020, 08:51:51 pm »
Omicron, thanks for reply!
I agree with you, but my point is exactly this: I get tied to a subscription! I don't wanna this!
 

Offline MitjaN

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 13
  • Country: si
Re: Shared Development and Libraries on Altium
« Reply #3 on: July 01, 2020, 05:39:20 am »
I get tied to a subscription!

This is exactly the reason why A365 works as it should and other solutions are not as polished as they could be.
 

Offline olkipukki

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 442
  • Country: 00
Re: Shared Development and Libraries on Altium
« Reply #4 on: July 01, 2020, 12:54:50 pm »

Well...I tried all those method (IntLib, DbLib, SVNDblib) and DBLib/SVNDBlib would be amazing if that works correctly.

What exactly wrong with DBLib and what is not working correctly?
 

Offline lluchiari

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 9
  • Country: br
Re: Shared Development and Libraries on Altium
« Reply #5 on: July 01, 2020, 05:17:47 pm »
Quote
What exactly wrong with DBLib and what is not working correctly?

Just to be clear, I'm using SVNDBlib, but the management is the same. I have two kind of problems: Bug Problems and Usability Problems.

Bug Problems

  • As it seems Altium have a bug when linking the directory path in the relative link mode(I use relative link because we work with repository and the database file inside a shared folder in my own server).
  • It, sometimes (and I don't know exactly when), looses the path and add some extra characters. I realize that because, suddenly, the components stop to sync with their Footprints and Symbols. So I open my SVNDblib and check the link with SVN repo (I use file method) and I have to fix the path, remove these extra characters and indicate footprint and symbols fonder again.

Usability Problems (I decide to call usability because I'm supposing this is not a bug and was thought to behave this way.)

  • A critical thing in Altium SVN management is that they created an SVN Cache folder where they use to look for the models. It uses the link to the SVN repo and checkout in background to this cache folder. So when you config the repo, you have to configure (Preferences->Data Management -> SVN Libraries) the Working Folder where you suppose to work with your files. So when I wanted to add a new Symbol or Footprint I add to my Working Folder (where I checked out from my repo). And so...Altium doesnt recognize. So I have to manually add the new component to repo and make a refresh on Storage Manager (with SVNDBlib opened) to Altium recognize a new component on repo. After that I can use normally Altium's SVN interface.
    Sometimes it doesn't recognize the new file, but this bug I guess they have fixed in this new release.
  • SVN itself (on Altium), doesn't detect modifications on Storage Manager. I have to keep refreshing and it sucks!
  • To add a new component I have to manually indicate the Library Ref and The Footprint Ref what is ok, but is easy commit mistakes and not handy. What is completely different when you use IntLib that you add it through an Graphical Interface.
  • Every time I add a component I have to manually feed db with all the configurations. Not handy

Well...as far I remember these are my considerations.
I had to learn that by myself and that was kind of difficult as Altium's docs are very well documented but they are not practical. So I end up reading a lot of things but to use a few of that. The best thing that helped me was an old example that I found showing the folder structure and configuration. That only example saved me a lot of time. My local Altium support does't even know how to do this. So...if maybe there is an easier way please tell me, because we are loosing a considerable time trying to implement this.

You could say..."well why not pay the renew?!". That's because here in my country and specially for my company (a small one) is very expansive due to currency conversion and government taxes. That's why we are struggling to find an alternative, because we paid a lot of money to a great tool and we still have to pay more money to a thing that, in my conception, is not an "complement" or an "add-on" feature, this is a mandatory tool for an Electronic Design.

Sorry for this huge text...
Thanks,
Lucas.
 


Share me

Digg  Facebook  SlashDot  Delicious  Technorati  Twitter  Google  Yahoo
Smf