Author Topic: Altium History folder  (Read 5903 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline tszaboo

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 5310
  • Country: nl
  • Current job: ATEX certified product design
Altium History folder
« on: October 28, 2015, 02:03:52 pm »
So I noticed that the History folder for my projects are keep getting bigger and bigger. We use SVN version control, completely separate from Altium, so I'm the data there is not really useful. The History folder is not even committed on SVN, so the project works without it on a different PC. And since it is already hogging several tens of GBs on my SSD, I'm planning to clean up this.
Did anyone else delete the history folder? Is there something to look for, any way the project can be damaged, or anything similar? Or does altium start making stupid bugs when I clean up this folder moths from now?
Former username: NANDBlog
 

Offline free_electron

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 7593
  • Country: us
    • SiliconValleyGarage
Re: Altium History folder
« Reply #1 on: October 28, 2015, 02:18:34 pm »
you can set up how long the history needs to be tracked in the dxp menu.
local history is useful for in-between-commits.

you typically do a commit only at the end of the day. the inbetween save let you roll back in steps of 15 minutes what you did. Altium can automatically show you the difference between snapshots.

Go to the Project Menu  -> Local history-> Storage Manager or Local history.

Local history : From here you can open freeze points and run compares
Storage manager : shows detailed timelines , checking / out ( if under version control ) . from here you can purge local history by selecting an event and right-clicking.

to change local storage settings:

DXP -> Data management -> Local History

there you can set the number of days to track

Autosave can be controlled from
DXP -> Data Management -> Backup

i got mine set for every 15 minutes and keep the last 5. These snapshots roll into the local history as well.
My history purges after 7 days.
Disk space is cheap. Losing an hour of work isn't ... or if the designer changes his mind you can quickly fork and unroll from the storage manager.

svn checking checkout is typically done morning and evening. anything inbetween is local history. no need to clutter up the SVN machine.


You can delete the history folder if you want to. no harm done. Altium will simply recreate a blank one on the next pass through.
i got my SVN settings to not push the history folder to svn.
Professional Electron Wrangler.
Any comments, or points of view expressed, are my own and not endorsed , induced or compensated by my employer(s).
 

Offline tszaboo

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 5310
  • Country: nl
  • Current job: ATEX certified product design
Re: Altium History folder
« Reply #2 on: October 28, 2015, 02:52:36 pm »
you can set up how long the history needs to be tracked in the dxp menu.
local history is useful for in-between-commits.

you typically do a commit only at the end of the day. the inbetween save let you roll back in steps of 15 minutes what you did. Altium can automatically show you the difference between snapshots.

Go to the Project Menu  -> Local history-> Storage Manager or Local history.

Local history : From here you can open freeze points and run compares
Storage manager : shows detailed timelines , checking / out ( if under version control ) . from here you can purge local history by selecting an event and right-clicking.

to change local storage settings:

DXP -> Data management -> Local History

there you can set the number of days to track

Autosave can be controlled from
DXP -> Data Management -> Backup

i got mine set for every 15 minutes and keep the last 5. These snapshots roll into the local history as well.
My history purges after 7 days.

Thank you, this is quite useful! The settings make sense.

Disk space is cheap. Losing an hour of work isn't ... or if the designer changes his mind you can quickly fork and unroll from the storage manager.

svn checking checkout is typically done morning and evening. anything inbetween is local history. no need to clutter up the SVN machine.

You can delete the history folder if you want to. no harm done. Altium will simply recreate a blank one on the next pass through.
i got my SVN settings to not push the history folder to svn.
Yes, history, project logs doesnt belong to SVN. Disk space would be cheap, if it wouldn't involve contacting IT, to request a bigger SSD, then explaining why:
-I need a bigger one
-I already have the biggest at the company
-moving all the data by them, when I dont have my laptop and finally
-turning off the virus protection they enable again (which turns my PC into a screen showing sand glass most of the time) and installing my virus protection again
Short sighted and mayor hassle are the two things which come to my mind. I should be glad, that today the Internet only stopped working two times.

I guess I'll delete the folder for any boards which have been into production already and start modifying the project setting when I'm working on them.
Thank you!
Former username: NANDBlog
 


Share me

Digg  Facebook  SlashDot  Delicious  Technorati  Twitter  Google  Yahoo
Smf