Author Topic: Tisk Tisk - Altium moving to China!  (Read 45473 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Strube09

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 125
  • Country: 00
Tisk Tisk - Altium moving to China!
« on: April 05, 2011, 12:42:29 pm »
 

Offline Zad

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1013
  • Country: gb
    • Digital Wizardry, Analogue Alchemy, Software Sorcery
Re: Tisk Tisk - Altium moving to China!
« Reply #1 on: April 05, 2011, 03:34:12 pm »
Hell yes, that is one huge mother of a mistake. A bit of a bugger for Dave too. Hope there was a bloody good redundancy.

I wonder if they are owned by a Chinese company or something now? There is this impression that China is now the centre of the world's economy and has suddenly acquired all the skills it needs for future growth. It is cheap right now, but sure as eggs is eggs, inflation will hit eventually, and there will be a shortage of trained and skilled people to do the jobs. Great at production, not so great at innovation.

I really hope a group of the ex-Altium guys get together and produce a competitor. I'm afraid over the last few years they rather took their eye off the ball and Creeping Featurage took over. The low and middle end of the market is huge and devoid of a decent product. Eagle is far from easy to use, and DesignSpark also feels like a product for amateurs.

Offline implor

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 36
Re: Tisk Tisk - Altium moving to China!
« Reply #2 on: April 05, 2011, 03:49:27 pm »
Maybe this is why Dave said that he will do the show full time - for a while.
 

Offline allanw

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 343
    • Electronoblog
Re: Tisk Tisk - Altium moving to China!
« Reply #3 on: April 05, 2011, 04:21:18 pm »
Well, I've heard that Altium hasn't been that profitable. From a business perspective, this makes sense.

Of course, it's still unfortunate for the current employees:

Quote
The first stage of the move will involve a reorganization of the Sydney office operations including a significant reduction in staff.
 

Alex

  • Guest
Re: Tisk Tisk - Altium moving to China!
« Reply #4 on: April 05, 2011, 04:26:54 pm »
They probably saw China as a platform 'in the making' where groundbreaking thinking can be adopted more easily. Same story with renewables.
I dont see why the execs needed to move to China to do this though, leaving behind the rest. Let them go and enjoy their Bejing duck, they will come back after dinner.

Cadence OrCAD is the standard for bigger companies (Intel) and Altium Designer has been traditionally used by smaller/niche companies.
 

Online mikeselectricstuff

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 12633
  • Country: gb
    • Mike's Electric Stuff
Re: Tisk Tisk - Altium moving to China!
« Reply #5 on: April 05, 2011, 04:32:09 pm »
For a company whose main business is complex software that needs a high level of support my feeling is it's potentially suicidal.
When did you last see software from China that was well-designed, fully documented and bug-free..?
Youtube channel:Taking wierd stuff apart. Very apart.
Mike's Electric Stuff: High voltage, vintage electronics etc.
Day Job: Mostly LEDs
 

Alex

  • Guest
Re: Tisk Tisk - Altium moving to China!
« Reply #6 on: April 05, 2011, 04:40:15 pm »
They will probably need to bring new people on the R&D team; I don't think most aussies were very excited about relocating to China...

Oh, here it is:

Quote
Altium plans to expand its R&D team over time by drawing on the talent pool in China.

I dont think support will be an issue as they are keeping their global support centres. They probably want to make business partners in China and get China to use the new versions of Altium.
 

Offline RayJones

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 490
    • Personal Website
Re: Tisk Tisk - Altium moving to China!
« Reply #7 on: April 05, 2011, 07:50:58 pm »
Bang!

Whoops where did my foot go?

Obviously been poisoned by the big dollar.
They were real good when they were the small Protel startup in Tasmania.
Then they bought into America and that was when the price hikes started and changed to Altium.
Now they're in China - well I can already see it now overpriced Chinese junk.

Oh well, Protel 99SE still is a damn good tool!
 

Online Mechatrommer

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 10316
  • Country: my
  • reassessing directives...
Re: Tisk Tisk - Altium moving to China!
« Reply #8 on: April 05, 2011, 07:57:27 pm »
i think this may means getting cheaper labour cost in R&D, but keep curtomer support from "english or multilingual people" which doesnt require high education level. the same to manager which only very few to pay (maybe 1 or 2 people only), they need to keep the quality and standard in order among Chinese labour (another win for chinese people, they are going to learn how 1st world standard works). the lower the labour (in-house) cost, hence can sell their product at more competetive price. Since (if i'm not mistaken) Dave worked in "Altium Competitor" company, the Giant Altium decision will influence the company so badly. and i guess any competitors should restructure as well, to keep up with the race.
It's extremely difficult to start life.. one features of nature.. physical laws are mathematical theory of great beauty... You may wonder Why? our knowledge shows that nature is so constructed. We simply have to accept it. One could describe the situation by saying that... (Paul Dirac)
 

Offline EEVblog

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 33275
  • Country: au
    • EEVblog
Re: Tisk Tisk - Altium moving to China!
« Reply #9 on: April 05, 2011, 09:02:26 pm »
The low and middle end of the market is huge and devoid of a decent product.

I agree. There really not not much choice out there, and Altium know this.
They could easily have OWNED the low, mid, and high end spaces but they sadly did not chose to do so.

Dave.
« Last Edit: June 24, 2011, 04:54:14 am by EEVblog »
 

Offline EEVblog

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 33275
  • Country: au
    • EEVblog
Re: Tisk Tisk - Altium moving to China!
« Reply #10 on: April 05, 2011, 09:05:35 pm »
Since (if i'm not mistaken) Dave worked in "Altium Competitor" company

No, I worked at Altium designing the Nanoboard hardware.

Dave.
 

Offline Ronnie

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 101
  • Country: ph
  • Stimulating your Ears
Re: Tisk Tisk - Altium moving to China!
« Reply #11 on: April 06, 2011, 12:07:29 am »
There is this impression that China is now the centre of the world's economy and has suddenly acquired all the skills it needs for future growth.

Looks like China's economy will overtake the US by the end of 2020?    ???
 

Offline EEVblog

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 33275
  • Country: au
    • EEVblog
Re: Tisk Tisk - Altium moving to China!
« Reply #12 on: April 06, 2011, 12:32:52 am »
The Altium move was discussed to todays AmpHour we just recorded.
So if you want some further details, be sure to tune in to this weeks episode.

Dave.
 

Offline mikemxyzzy

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 15
Re: Tisk Tisk - Altium moving to China!
« Reply #13 on: April 06, 2011, 01:14:52 am »
Didn't Altium have problems with their Chinese VAR in 2005 or so? I seem to recall seeing an article about it.
 

Offline AdShea

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 35
Re: Tisk Tisk - Altium moving to China!
« Reply #14 on: April 06, 2011, 03:04:40 am »
Well, I don't expect it to stay better than OrCAD for much longer now.  Time to work on gEDA I guess.
 

Offline slburris

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 541
  • Country: us
Re: Tisk Tisk - Altium moving to China!
« Reply #15 on: April 06, 2011, 03:32:25 am »
Hell yes, that is one huge mother of a mistake. A bit of a bugger for Dave too. Hope there was a bloody good redundancy.

This doesn't translate well for me here in the US.  Does redundancy
mean severance package?  "Bloody good" translates just fine though!

Scott
 

Offline EEVblog

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 33275
  • Country: au
    • EEVblog
Re: Tisk Tisk - Altium moving to China!
« Reply #16 on: April 06, 2011, 04:52:49 am »
Yes, redundancy means severance package.

Dave.
« Last Edit: June 24, 2011, 04:52:19 am by EEVblog »
 

Offline george graves

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1257
  • Country: us
Re: Tisk Tisk - Altium moving to China!
« Reply #17 on: April 06, 2011, 06:29:22 am »
Ohh - theamphour show is up!  Great - Listening now.




Online mikeselectricstuff

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 12633
  • Country: gb
    • Mike's Electric Stuff
Re: Tisk Tisk - Altium moving to China!
« Reply #18 on: April 06, 2011, 08:05:55 am »
Quote
I agree. There really not not much choice out there, and Altium know this.
They could easily have OWNED the low, mid, and high end spaces but they sadly did not chose to do so.
I wonder if a group of ex-Altiummers will set up to go after this market....

I still use PCAD2006, which is one of the only PCB packages designed from scratch to use normal Windows conventions, and so has a very easy learning curve. It also has an open & documented file format so easy to write translators - if marketed at the right price it could have easily killed Eagle stone dead.
Youtube channel:Taking wierd stuff apart. Very apart.
Mike's Electric Stuff: High voltage, vintage electronics etc.
Day Job: Mostly LEDs
 

Offline Hypernova

  • Supporter
  • ****
  • Posts: 655
  • Country: tw
Re: Tisk Tisk - Altium moving to China!
« Reply #19 on: April 06, 2011, 08:49:19 am »
They probably want to make business partners in China and get China to use the new versions of Altium.

Oh the Chinese will use it don't you worry.

Tricky part is getting them to pay for it  ;)
 

Offline McPete

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 163
  • Country: au
  • Layout Designer, AKA eCAD monkey
Re: Tisk Tisk - Altium moving to China!
« Reply #20 on: April 06, 2011, 09:03:44 am »
Damn, that sucks... What'll be left in Australia now? Sales and not a whole lot else? Execs with dollars-in-eyes at work here, by the sound of it.

My TAFE still teaches Protel 99SE... is that indicitave of industry in this country, or the way TAFE is funded?

Best of luck to you and your colleagues job-hunting Dave. I'm sure people of your experience will be snapped up by other employers.
 

Offline EEVblog

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 33275
  • Country: au
    • EEVblog
Re: Tisk Tisk - Altium moving to China!
« Reply #21 on: April 06, 2011, 12:36:08 pm »
Quote
I agree. There really not not much choice out there, and Altium know this.
They could easily have OWNED the low, mid, and high end spaces but they sadly did not chose to do so.
I wonder if a group of ex-Altiummers will set up to go after this market....

I still use PCAD2006, which is one of the only PCB packages designed from scratch to use normal Windows conventions, and so has a very easy learning curve. It also has an open & documented file format so easy to write translators - if marketed at the right price it could have easily killed Eagle stone dead.

Altium could kill Eagle stone dead within months and nab the entire hobbyist/hacker/maker/low cost market.
They chose not to because they can't see down to earth through the cloud....

Dave.
 

Offline EEVblog

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 33275
  • Country: au
    • EEVblog
Re: Tisk Tisk - Altium moving to China!
« Reply #22 on: April 06, 2011, 12:39:18 pm »
Damn, that sucks... What'll be left in Australia now? Sales and not a whole lot else? Execs with dollars-in-eyes at work here, by the sound of it.

My TAFE still teaches Protel 99SE... is that indicitave of industry in this country, or the way TAFE is funded?

Both. TAFE stupidly underfunded.
I know many companies still using 99SE because it did the job.
That version is/was also the standard in China, except that few actually paid for it.

Dave.
« Last Edit: April 08, 2011, 03:12:21 am by EEVblog »
 

Online Mechatrommer

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 10316
  • Country: my
  • reassessing directives...
Re: Tisk Tisk - Altium moving to China!
« Reply #23 on: April 06, 2011, 02:21:01 pm »
i've been in delusion with A!tium filter all this time. so now i can hear the true story. i just wish you luck dave.
It's extremely difficult to start life.. one features of nature.. physical laws are mathematical theory of great beauty... You may wonder Why? our knowledge shows that nature is so constructed. We simply have to accept it. One could describe the situation by saying that... (Paul Dirac)
 

Offline shadewind

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 329
Re: Tisk Tisk - Altium moving to China!
« Reply #24 on: April 06, 2011, 06:54:56 pm »
Well... I wonder what the future of hobbyist and semi-pro PCB software holds. I tried using EAGLE a bit but it's a very archaic program which is completely unintuitive...
 


Share me

Digg  Facebook  SlashDot  Delicious  Technorati  Twitter  Google  Yahoo
Smf