Author Topic: $200 power supply: New KORAD or used HP, Tektronix, or similar?  (Read 2035 times)

Offline MaxBishopTopic starter

• Contributor
Hello. I trust your experience more than my research. I’m going to spend in the neighborhood of $200 on a power supply. I need/want dual output, up to 30v, not sure about amps. I don’t mind servicing older stuff and actually like vintage stuff that is reliable but need it to work from the start as my project has a timeline. Based on past experience would you buy two KORAD KA3005’s (or comparable) or would you purchase a used, dual output HP, Tektronix, BK or similar off of eBay. I’m new with limited knowledge so if you have other suggestions please feel free to share other possibilities. Any help is appreciated.

Offline aliarifat794

• Regular Contributor
Re: $200 power supply: New KORAD or used HP, Tektronix, or similar?
« Reply #1 on: April 07, 2024, 02:52:57 pm »
These brands have a reputation for reliability and performance.Look for models that meet your voltage and current requirements.

Offline donlisms

• Frequent Contributor
« Reply #2 on: April 07, 2024, 03:06:24 pm »
I have bought several used Power Designs, one HP, and one Lambda supply, and had pretty good luck with all of them.

The HP needed the most attention - the power switch crumbled; the smoke came when I turned it OFF!  Confusing.  Not a typical fail, I think.  It also has old stiff wiring that needs replacing.

The PD's just seem to work; I love them, and would like more, just because I like 'em, not because I need 'em!

The following users thanked this post: MaxBishop

Online coromonadalix

• Super Contributor
« Reply #3 on: April 07, 2024, 03:08:23 pm »
I'm not impressed by Korad ....    i would choose any reputable brand well before that one, and if you don't find a dual one, buy two identical models, 

if it's the case you'll have to fiddle,  serial and parallel mode ..

Some Mastech and clones   had better reliability in the past