Author Topic: power supply conversion  (Read 3112 times)

Offline alfajimTopic starter

power supply conversion
« on: March 07, 2015, 08:48:38 am »
Hi there, I am a newbie to this forum so you will have to pardon my off the wall questions, but I am not a newbie to electronics digital and or analogue.

This will be a two part request. First is has anyone done a measurement on noise from a laptop power supply specifically a Toshiba branded 15vdc 5amp 75w version. I watched the youtube video on detecting noise on a power supply and finding that a cheapo ps plugged into her mains was the culprit.

Second part and the reason behind my asking is I am planning to modify a phono pre amp I picked up it is non op right now but I am going to do a series of mods to it to improve its musical output. The unit uses a 12vac 750mamp wall wart for its external power supply. It then has a voltage doubler dual half wave rectifier ps on the board into a pair of 7818/7918 regulators with a 18vdc + &- rails with a 0vdc in the center.
One of the mods done previously is to remove the on board ps and convert it to batteries, a 6v and 12v, two of each in a series parallel system there by supplying the necessary 18vdc and 0v.