Author Topic: 1 minute of power.  (Read 1033 times)

Offline renzomsTopic starter

• Regular Contributor
  • I post everywhere lol
    • YouTube Channel
1 minute of power.
« on: October 20, 2019, 08:55:41 pm »
So I’ve got an LM3302N (IC COMPARATOR QUAD DIFF 14-DIP), LT1101CN8 (IC VOLTAGE COMPARATOR 5-V 8-DIP), and a TLC373CP (IC DUAL DIFF COMP 8-DIP) and I want to build a circuit inspired of the “1 minute of power” circuit in the Art of Electronics 3rd Ed.
I looked at the data sheets and I only understood the maximum voltage and I/O current ratings. I’m at chapter one in AOE. I’ve read about 700 pages textbook, so some of the data sheet, buffers, and comparators were not incomprehensible.
I think they would all work as long as I don’t exceed 20mA and LT1101 is confusing me with it’s title “voltage comparator.”
Sorry if this was too lengthy for you, I’m just getting into electronics.
I appreciate any input about data sheets and these chips, keep in mind I’m working through these textbooks.

Thanks members of the EEVblog forum.

Offline alsetalokin4017

• Super Contributor
Re: 1 minute of power.
« Reply #1 on: October 21, 2019, 08:25:07 pm »
Well, I can't find a datasheet for the TLC373CP but the LM3302 looks pretty good to me for this project. You will only be using one of the 4 comparators in the chip but that's OK.

So you want to build a circuit that starts with an LED (for example) dark, and when you push a momentary-contact pushbutton the LED (for example) lights up, remains lit at constant power for one minute, then goes dark. And you want to do this with an RC circuit and a comparator. Right?

Elementary my dear Watson. How far have you gotten so far? Do you have a breadboard, some kind of power supply, some resistors and capacitors in addition to the LM3302 chip?

(I don't actually own a copy of TAOE, I only have access to a text edition without diagrams....    :'(   )