Author Topic: 100ma, 500ma and 900ma current availability indication without the use of an MCU  (Read 2729 times)

Offline product_dev_as_a_hobbyTopic starter

• Contributor
Preamble

I have never done any PCB design before and am not an EE. I recently, however, realized that for programming microcontrollers having a debugger would be very handy, and further than that, having a debugger that was isolated would be even more handy to make expensive mistakes, cheap mistakes.

As such, I started designing the schematic for a board that I plan to have 2 connectors, one being an upstream facing port and one being a downstream facing port.

The setup from upstream to downstream is as follows:

• Power and USB 2.0 Data come onto the board through the first type C receptacle, only using the D+ and D- lines, pulling the CC lines both to ground with 2 5.1kohm resistors.
  • The power is broken off to power 3 isolated DC to DC power supplies (2 3v3 and 1 5v5) for 3 separate purposes, and the data is passed through an ADUM4166 USB Hi-Speed Isolator.
  • On the other side of the isolation barrier:

• One 3v3 supply is used to power the ADUM4166 as well as the FT2232HQ and its accessories, IO pins, and indicator lights.
    • One 3v3 supply will be used to potentially power whatever MCU is being tested at that time if it does not have a supply of its own for whatever reason.
    • One 5v5 supply will be used to power a USB Hub controller that will connect to both the FT2232HQ for debugging purposes and the downstream facing type C port to get more utility out of the Isolator as it's rather costly on its own so it makes sense to me to have it also function in a multi-purpose manner.

My goal is to make a board for debugging that will allow me to operate carefree, insulated from sloppy mistakes. There are various components not mentioned related to safety such as ESD TVS diodes, etc.

Request