Author Topic: First proper schematic - Binary Clock  (Read 2730 times)

Offline paulcaTopic starter

• Super Contributor
First proper schematic - Binary Clock
« on: February 10, 2018, 09:06:32 pm »
So I've been trying to learn KiCad as my schematic tool.

This is my first attempt at a project using it.

It's a binary clocked based on an ATMega328P MCU and TLC59282 LED Driver with a RS1302 real time clock.

Power supply is not shown, current plan is an 18650 with Wemos battery shield (basically a TP4056 + 5V boost).

I'm not showing the attempt at the PCB yet.  I had to do messed up things like reverse the bit order of the LEDs to stop whole groups of tracks crossing.  I can handle that in code, just shift the byte out in reverse order.

EDIT: Just noticed, I haven't put the setting buttons on there yet.  Don't want to have to get the ISP programmer out to set the clock.
« Last Edit: February 10, 2018, 09:09:31 pm by paulca »
"What could possibly go wrong?"
Current Open Projects:  STM32F411RE+ESP32+TFT for home IoT (NoT) projects.  Child's advent xmas countdown toy.  Digital audio routing board.

The following users thanked this post: imidis

Offline Cyberdragon

• Super Contributor
Re: First proper schematic - Binary Clock
« Reply #1 on: February 10, 2018, 09:51:55 pm »
You don't need a LED driver. Just connect the hours and minutes together directly to the controller and and multiplex them. Then connect the other LEDs to the remaining pins. The controller can handle 40mA per pin and 200mA total, which is plenty for simple indicator LEDs.
*BZZZZZZAAAAAP*
Voltamort strikes again!
Explodingus - someone who frequently causes accidental explosions

Offline Brumby

• Supporter
« Reply #2 on: February 10, 2018, 10:05:36 pm »
.... Except that at 7:31:31 PM there will be 3 + 5 + 5 +1 = 14 LEDs lit at the one time.

* Thinks *

* does some numbers *

But - that's still 14mA per LED - which should be more than enough.
« Last Edit: February 10, 2018, 10:09:44 pm by Brumby »