Author Topic: 21V Mini DC UPS - too long switching delay  (Read 427 times)

Offline lkondasTopic starter

21V Mini DC UPS - too long switching delay
« on: September 27, 2021, 10:07:24 am »
Hello everyone!

I'd like to have a cost effective DC UPS for my home server, and need some help

I purchased a cheap chinese mini DC UPS - power bank , what is using 18650 Cells (https://www.aliexpress.com/item/1005002483138986.html?spm=a2g0s.9042311.0.0.5d7f4c4dB0307k)
The server is a micro form-factor PC, which has a 19.5V 65W power brick (Dell 7050 Micro)

The UPS - power bank is in passthrough mode when it has power from the DC barrel. When there is power loss, it generates the selected voltage level (19V, or 21V is available). However, there is a small (~1s) delay when switching, which is too much, and basically power-cycles the PC.

Can somebody help me, to create some kind of buffer, to circumvent the 1 second outage? I have very little knowledge, but maybe some capacitors could do the job?

Also, i'm interested in any expert advice on how this setup is feasible even, and if there are anycaveats that i don't know of.
Thanks in advance!

Offline GlennSprigg

• Super Contributor
  • Medically retired Tech. Old School / re-learning !
Re: 21V Mini DC UPS - too long switching delay
« Reply #1 on: September 27, 2021, 11:16:15 am »
Firstly, hello, and welcome to the Forum!!
Hmmm...  Hope I'm not leading you astray here!!   :)
I looked at the specs for the Device you mentioned, and it only states that in 'UPS' mode...
"Upon power outage, the item will respond in LESS than one second".  Well I have 2 observations.
1- That for about $17/$18 is unfortunately not going to offer you much, in the way of real functionality.
2- A true 'UPS', is just that... 'Uninterruptible', as it is *always* creating/supplying the necessary power at the output.
It really shouldn't have to do any 'switching' as such? Especially if it's just DC in/out. A.C. ups's always make their own