Author Topic: 32bit 1MSPS ADC to ESP32 project  (Read 4558 times)

Offline davegravyTopic starter

• Regular Contributor
32bit 1MSPS ADC to ESP32 project
« on: December 05, 2021, 03:24:35 am »
I don't have a specific question yet. I'm embarking on a project and about to spend a fair bit of $ so I would love to get a sanity check on my plan.

Background:
I have an EE degree from 15 years ago but haven never practiced in the field seriously (dabbled occasionally) so I'm a bit worried I'm going in over my head. Hope this is the right forum.

Concept:
The project concept is to learn about the LTC2500-32 ADC and see what it takes to get good performance out of it. I plan to interface with an ESP32 dev board. The ADC EVAL board is too steep ($) for me, I'm buying just the ADC chip.

Phase 0: Power it up, write some control registers, read some noise samples.
I'll be soldering to a DIP28 adapter and then building the circuit deadbug style probably but maybe solderless breadboarding (?)

For simplicity I'll be using Arduino framework. I figure I can use PWM to generate MCLK pulses at 1MHZ with a ~7% duty cycle. I'll probably be decimating by 22x on the internal filter to give me a data output rate of 44kHz. From the datasheet I think means the SPI SCK only needs to be around 44kHz so I assume the ESP32 with SPI library can keep up with that fine. I'll need to wait for the DRL line to go high and then start my SPI.transfer().

I'll stream the sample values read from the ADC via a wifi TCP socket to a pc running python which can plot my waveform, FFT, etc.

I have a decent 3ch bench supply, but no scope/logic analyzer :box: 

Not worrying about supply regulation or anything at this stage, just want to read some noise (that's probably way out of spec).

Phase 1: Try to read an in-spec noise floor.
Get a proper low noise voltage reference for REF and quality LDOs for VDD and OVDD. Build a circuit to generate a low jitter MCLK.