Author Topic: 40W CO2 Laser Engraving/cutting Machine Training  (Read 1017 times)

Offline JimSCTopic starter

40W CO2 Laser Engraving/cutting Machine Training
« on: May 08, 2019, 06:53:11 pm »
I am new to laser cutting and right off have some issues.  I would like to get some training. Any ideas? I have a $400 chinese laser ( 40W CO2 Laser Engraving Machine). I have no illusions that this machine will do what I would like to do but I thought this was a good way to learn without laying out a bunch of money.

I live in the Fort Mill, South Carolina/Charlotte, North Carolina area and would be willing to travel. Any online classes? 

Jim

Offline Domagoj T

• Frequent Contributor
Re: 40W CO2 Laser Engraving/cutting Machine Training
« Reply #1 on: May 08, 2019, 07:11:01 pm »
I have that thing and could answer your questions.

I opted for the 20x30cm work area, which is usually enough for my purposes, but results in more scrap material than necessary and some limitations.
It does cut 3 mm plywood easily and cleanly (not any plywood, it must be special kind for laser cutting), acrylic and card stock.

A big limitation is the fixed height of bed in my machine (no z axis adjustment). It limits you to thin sheet material.
Air assist seems to be important, as well as proper air evacuation.
Water cooling pump that came with the machine seems to be ok.

One thing I will say is that I use it much less than I expected to, and given the experience I have now would not buy it again. Don't get me wrong, the machine does everything I expected it to do, but the controller is locked to the crappy software that is very fiddly and not intuitive. I did buy a replacement one, but never got around to installing it. The reason I don't use it much is primarily due to general lack of time and plenty of other projects I have on hand.

Edit: