Author Topic: 70 MHZ Oscilloscope with higher rated probes  (Read 3321 times)

Offline Rick KingTopic starter

• Contributor
  • Audio Addict
70 MHZ Oscilloscope with higher rated probes
« on: April 15, 2021, 03:09:14 pm »
Hi,

My first post and a retired beginner for hobby.
First, I searched the web and here for a previous post so not to duplicate (i.e. eevblog.com: probes on Google.) So, sorry if I did.

So you know my use: Only Hifi amplifiers, Tape decks etc. Keep in mind I am a newbie and learning, although I retired from IT. I may be way off base in my thinking. Reading a lot of books and watching EEVBlog videos. I may be ahead of myself in my learning curve. At my age I am trying to learn only what I need to know for hobby and probably missing a lot of basics.

I bought a cheap scope (Hantek 70 MHz, although has decent reviews) to learn with. I also purchased extra 200 MHz probes. I'm not sure if I needed them. When looking at SINE waves from a Audio Function Generator the signal seems distorted at x10 and even worse with the 200 MHz probes. [Probably not the best way to get a signal, but using software as opposed to a proper stand-alone Signal Generator, which may be the problem] Lastly, I have calibrated and also tried to fine-tune with the screws on the probe; which helped a little.

I guess my question is guidance. Do I need 200 MHz probes? Should I buy a separate unit? Many of the HiFi techs I talk to say they don't use one that often. Any recommendations for a better learning path would be welcomed as well. Hope I have made some sense.

Cheers!
Rick

P.S. I am not thin skinned. I can handle directness. Just want to learn.

Online tggzzz

• Super Contributor
  • Numbers, not adjectives
    • Having fun doing more, with less
Re: 70 MHZ Oscilloscope with higher rated probes
« Reply #1 on: April 15, 2021, 03:25:40 pm »
Welcome. Thinkg and wanting to learn are a good starting point.