Author Topic: A Beginners Guide to Soldering Surface Mount Components  (Read 17692 times)

Offline Michael LloydTopic starter

• Contributor
  • NE5U
    • Wild Light Imaging
A Beginners Guide to Soldering Surface Mount Components
« on: March 13, 2017, 02:28:05 am »
I'm a beginner and this is my guide  :o

When I was in my 40's I decided that SMD's were the spawn of satan and they would never catch on  :-DD Now approaching 59... that's a long way from 60 just so you know... I have decided to start using surface mount devices. It makes perfect sense really. Now that 15+ years have gone by, I can't see worth a damn and my hands shake more than they used to (but not much). I normally work on things with tubes in them but I have an OtherMill Pro and dabble in making my own boards every now and then. I use the mill to make a prototype and then order from Osh Park if I want commercial boards (like for friends or gifts). When it comes to ordering boards, size matters  :-//

This isn't the first project but it's a good for illustrating my list of things that a beginner should know about soldering surface mount devices. It's a double sided board with a bunch of 2.2k ohm resistors on both sides. There's also a diode and cap for rf detection. Apparently they screwed up the board somehow and the surface mount cap location is not usable.

In no certain order these are the things that I know about soldering SMD's.

Opinions
(1) if someone tells you that you don't need a microscope to solder SMD's, poke their eyes out with a sharp stick and take their microscope (not really but that's bullshit)
(2) use the correct soldering iron and tip. A 1/4" chisel tip might work fine on that old 1948 Zenith AM radio but it's not going to cut it for SMD work
(3) make no mistake, SMD's ARE the spawn of satan. Especially if they are smaller than 0805
(4) it's best if you know at least one or two expletives.