Author Topic: Absolute beginners 101 - measuring my power supply output  (Read 1458 times)

Offline 3PinFanHeaderTopic starter

• Contributor
Absolute beginners 101 - measuring my power supply output
« on: April 20, 2024, 11:07:49 pm »
Hi all, and thatnks for a wonderful forum.

This is a totally 101 question, so bare with me.

I have two scopes - my "old" FNIRSI 1014D and a Rigol MSO5072 upgraded to uhm, "the best" :)

This is my setup:

A power supply to be measured (I'm using + and - but not GND)
A 2W 2Ω resistor
A breadboard
generic P6100 (100MHz) probe (connected to the FNIRSI)
Rigol PVP350 350MHz probe (connected to the Rigol)

My attempt is to see the spike on the scope induced by setting the power supply to 3.0V 0.3A and
* Turn on the power supply output using the output button
* Have the output on and hotplug the + to the resistor

So I set both scopes to single and the trigger to 2.8V (ish).
On the FNIRSI, I get a nice graph showing me that the power supply isn't exceeding its 3.0V on pushing the output on button, but on the Rigol, I just get a flat-line.

On the Rigol it tends to trigger very fast with no important information visible other than noise.

So, what is it that I might be doing incorrectly - and how might I do it better on the Rigol?

Please keep in mind - the FNIRSI, simple as it is, really is dumbass-friendly (good for me) - but I still want to know how to use my Rigol properly. It's too expensive to be just a shelf-warmer :)

Thanks all <3

Offline JustMeHere

• Frequent Contributor
Re: Absolute beginners 101 - measuring my power supply output
« Reply #1 on: April 21, 2024, 01:58:00 am »
Post photos/screenshots.

Online Aldo22

• Frequent Contributor
« Reply #2 on: April 21, 2024, 07:51:06 am »
On the FNIRSI, I get a nice graph showing me that the power supply isn't exceeding its 3.0V on pushing the output on button, but on the Rigol, I just get a flat-line.