Author Topic: Absolutely overwelmed by oscilliscope features & prices for a basic scope  (Read 1714 times)

Offline nsummyTopic starter

• Contributor
I hate to add another oscilloscope thread as I know the info is out there but I am overwhelmed.  Reading this stuff almost feels like reading in-depth reviews for tvs and cameras:  The people reviewing use all of the capabilities so anything but the high(er) end seems like utter garbage.

I have slowly but surely been getting into electronics in general and more specifically vintage electronics.  I'm a beginner but starting to advance to reading service manuals & am now wanting to perform alignments & other test steps in these manuals.  Its clear I need to get an oscilloscope to do anything meaningful.  I know enough about test equipment & its eye watering prices to know that $300 for a new oscilloscope is "cheap" but I can't help but think there has to be something cheaper that can give basic & accurate measurements.  The DHO800 is $330 but I know I do not need all of the capabilities it provides.  Looking at used prices on ebay bottom prices for an (old) digital scope seem to be about $200+ and at that point I might as well just spend the extra $100.  I see analog scopes recommended but many are sold "for parts" and I think initially I will need a scope that I can trust the readings.

TL;DR Is there anything out there in the $100-$200 range that can provide reliable functionality to do something like aligning an FM receiver or verify an old EICO signal generator is working.

Also for what its worth, my inspiration for this post was reading the thread on the Hanmatek DOS1102 and truly couldn't tell if it was junk or decent enough for my needs:  https://www.eevblog.com/forum/testgear/wow!-$123-hanmatek-dos1102-initial-comments/

Online Wallace Gasiewicz

• Super Contributor
Go to a local Hamfest and see if you can find one that works. I have seen nice scopes for under $100 including a Tek 475 (200 MHz) recently.