Author Topic: AC Capacitor current not smooth on scope  (Read 937 times)

Offline Bob773Topic starter

AC Capacitor current not smooth on scope
« on: July 23, 2023, 07:51:23 pm »
I work in the power industry (standby generators) and have been playing with a scope recently.  Learning a lot by visualizing current phase shift, reactive power, etc.  I am using some motor run capacitors across 120v 60hz mains to look at the current phase shift and visualizing power factor correction.  The capacitor current shows up squiggly and not a smooth sine wave?  I have tried several different current clamps, different scale settings, and also a 10x line splitter.  The current for a resistive load or induction motor shows up very nice smooth sine wave as expected.  When I combine the inductive and capacitive loads on 1 circuit I get power factor correction like expected but the resultant combined current is also squiggly.  What causes this?  Please see picture, yellow is voltage, blue is current.  Thanks

Offline bdunham7

• Super Contributor
Re: AC Capacitor current not smooth on scope
« Reply #1 on: July 23, 2023, 08:18:07 pm »
If you look at the points where there is a kink or squiggle in your current trace and then go vertically to the corresponding point in time on your yellow voltage trace, you'll see a much smaller kink or squiggle, some may be barely noticeable or perhaps not really visible at all.  What happens with a capacitor is that it has a certain reactive impedance at 60Hz and the overall current will be approximately 120(V) divided by this impedance (ohms).  However, when there are harmonics present--and there is significant harmonic distortion in your voltage waveform--then the reactive impedance of the capacitor to those harmonics is lower and thus more current flow is sensed from them.