Author Topic: AC Current Measurement  (Read 1034 times)

Offline JKKDevTopic starter

• Regular Contributor
AC Current Measurement
« on: March 12, 2020, 11:17:25 am »
Hey guys,

I've looked over the search results concerning the title but I can't find what I'm looking for. And as I feel it's a basic thing it should be asked in this section.

I'm building a computer-controlled dual-motor switch. Motors run on 240 VAC (expected current is around 1A however I haven't received them yet so I wasn't able to measure it. Let's assume it's under 5A). I will have a relay module with some logic to turn either of the two motors on (never both as they will be driving the same thing). I need to be able to monitor the current consumption of the input into the relay module (ac source -> current monitor -> relay module -> 2x motor).

This is my first time working with AC so excuse my ignorance. The solution that feels the most reasonable to me is a current transformer, however from what I've read it is used for high current loads (several hundreds of amps). The bonus I see in it is that it offers galvanic isolation.

The other common solution is a shunt resistor. Here I'm not sure how to go about designing the circuitry around it. From what I've read I should be doing high side measurement which means any component used will be exposed to the 240VAC potential (is this right?). Can I get some pointers on how to go about using shunt resistor in this setting and what kind of circuitry to build around it?

Any kind of insight into designing current measuring circuitry for 240 VAC inductive loads would be very welcome (links to guides, even books on the subject).

Thank you and have a nice day :)

Offline capt bullshot

• Super Contributor
    • Mostly useless stuff, but nice to have: wunderkis.de
Re: AC Current Measurement
« Reply #1 on: March 12, 2020, 12:58:05 pm »
One can buy a CT rated for e.g. 5A: