Author Topic: Adding External Power / Lighting / Functional Brake Light to Electric GoKart  (Read 255 times)

Offline bonifacioTopic starter

• Contributor
I have some experience tinkering but would say I'm a novice. I've done some modding and have made some simple things. I know this is something really simple for you guys.
I wanted to add lightning to a GoKart I have on the way. Picked up a Ninebot GoKart Pro. I haven't found much about modifying them. When I did come across something, I hated how it was done.
Want to keep things clean.

Would you recommend making my own lights or modifying existing bicycle lights?
Most existing lights I was interested in have internal batteries. So even after I kill power, the internal batteries would still keep the light running.
Just don't want to run around hitting 4-5 switches everytime just to turn lights on and off.

Existing lights on the GoKart.
The front light seems to be a LED cob strip. I'd assume putting something functional there would overdraw or be underpowered. I'll be checking this when it arrives.

The taillight might be non-functional. No lightning at all.

I did come across this light. Since it could power, could a hub be added for that third output?

Appreciate any ideas and guidance you can give. Maybe I overlooked something that's already out there.

Requirements:
  • Avoid touching factory wiring. Figured I'll get something working. Once I figure out how I want things set up, I'll start digging into the GoKart. Going in stages.
    Figured I'd hunt down connectors later to be as plug-n-play as I can later on.
  • Have 3 switches control everything. (1) Main - Power for all, (1) Front Light and (1) Aux.
    Taillight power would just be controlled by the Main.
  • Power to have 3 outputs.
  • Functioning Taillight. Dim when on. Brighter when braking.
    Trying to find or think of a way to do this. There is an existing taillight housing. Make something or retrofit something to fit in there.