Author Topic: Analog meter VS a DMM?  (Read 17088 times)

Offline etstudentTopic starter

• Regular Contributor
Analog meter VS a DMM?
« on: October 23, 2012, 02:38:26 am »
I'm waiting for my analog meter to arrive before starting my next set of challenges. The next ones are linear integrated circuits. You can't use a DMM, it say specifically not to, and in bold letters to use an analog meter only. What are the main differences between the two, and are there circumstances an analog meter is to be used only over a DMM? Thanks for the info I'm sure you guys have.

Offline FenderBender

• Super Contributor
    • The Solid State Workshop
Re: Analog meter VS a DMM?
« Reply #1 on: October 23, 2012, 03:32:18 am »
I'm no expert myself BUT an analog meter should give you better sensitivity to small changes in (whatever you are measuring) because as it says...it's analog...there's no ADC to turn it into a digital number. An analog meter can read an infinite amount of values in a range...technically.

I'm not sure exactly what you are using it for but that's part of the reason to use an analog meter over a DMM. However, most of the time a DMM is your best friend.

Also, what analog meter did you get? Even a mid-priced analog meter doesn't always cut it.

Online ejeffrey

• Super Contributor
« Reply #2 on: October 23, 2012, 04:48:49 am »
Analog is easier to see quantities that are changing in the few Hz range.  Digital displays become useless when they are changing every update, for instance if a quantity is flickering between 6.99 and 7.00 is very hard to read, especially if the meter has a high update rate.  Most DMMs have an averaging mode to provide a more stable reading.  With an analog meter on the other hand, you can see both the average value and notice that the needle is oscillating back and forth.