Author Topic: Any recommendations for cheap soldering practice boards?  (Read 1812 times)

Offline Cyber AkumaTopic starter

• Regular Contributor
Any recommendations for cheap soldering practice boards?
« on: October 03, 2022, 08:42:26 pm »
Since I have very little soldering experience, before I start any soldering projects and potentially ruin the parts I wanted to practice first. The most common and popular practice board seems to be this one SMD board that has a few leds that light up, and it's even pretty cheap on eBay, some selling it for as little as about $2.

Thing is though, I would like to practice with easier through-hole components first before I try to get into harder stuff like SMD, especially since the majority of the components I will be soldering in the projects I want to try are through-hole. But strangely, I can't find many affordable through-hole soldering practice kits.

A lot of the practice boards I see, through hole or SMD, also just have you solder components in place on a trace-less board and that's it. I also would prefer it if the board did something, it doesn't matter what it does just as long as it does something that basically acts as a verification of "You soldered all the parts in correctly". There are little toys that do something like this, where the goal of soldering it together is to get something semi-usable out of it, but these focus more on the novelty of what you assemble than the practice of the soldering, plus they tend to be expensive.

Anyone aware of any good and cheap soldering practice boards so I can get in some through-hole and then later SMD soldering practice before I try to do it for real?

Offline ledtester

• Super Contributor
Re: Any recommendations for cheap soldering practice boards?
« Reply #1 on: October 03, 2022, 08:57:32 pm »
It appears that this board contains a 555 + 4017 and some leds and should do something:

https://www.aliexpress.us/item/3256801329452100.html

• Regular Contributor