Author Topic: Audio Circuit Issues With Oscilloscope Screen Caps.  (Read 870 times)

Offline UngolianTopic starter

• Regular Contributor
Audio Circuit Issues With Oscilloscope Screen Caps.
« on: April 12, 2021, 10:51:46 pm »
Hello all, I'm having a rather odd problem with an audio circuit.  It's a 3 transistor clean boost that can also do clipping.  I'll try to be as precise as possible, but I'm relatively new to this, so I'm sure I'll leave something out.  Anyways, here's some screen caps.  I'm using a 1k sine, but something is dropping it down to about 65hz, and there is some random oscillation and crackling.  The oscillations even happen when the effect is bypassed, and the treble, bass, gain, and volume pots change the frequency and volume of the oscillation (which I thought was a grounding issue, but no luck).  I also figured it might be a capacitor issue, so I replaced every electrolytic, and the same thing happens.  There are also some film caps that I haven't replaced yet as the board is part of a kit and I don't want to risk pulling any pads off.  This isn't a modulation effect, and yet the voltages on the collectors of Q1-Q3 modulate by about .5v from 4.1v to 4.6v in a totally random manner.  It's a 9v effect, and I've tried both battery and adapter power with the same results.  Maybe it's a bad solder joint?  I went over everything.  Twice.  I replaced all 3 transistors as well, and again, same thing.  Replaced the bypass switch.  Nope.  I've made this particular circuit before, and have never had this happen.  The randomness is maddening.  It will work perfect fine for a few seconds, then go back into oscillation.  Which again makes me think of capacitors.  I didn't think the smaller film caps could cause that because they discharge too fast.  I included a shot of the input cap where it goes into the base of Q1, and even without any amplification, the random oscillation is there.  So I shortened the input wire, thinking it was some kind of heterodyning.