Author Topic: Basic voltage question in circuit.  (Read 901 times)

Online .RC.Topic starter

• Frequent Contributor
Basic voltage question in circuit.
« on: May 15, 2023, 11:33:09 am »
I am just learning still and after watching a youtube video on astable multivibrator circuits I was playing with this simple circuit on a breadboard and was probing voltages with an oscilloscope.

I was wondering where the extra voltage is coming from

If you look at the circuit I have drawn,  I put the probe ground at ground as shown.

Then with the switch closed I measure the voltages at point A, B and C.

A is 0V as expected.   B is 10V and C is 10V after the capacitor charges.

I then open the switch which removes the negative side.   Point A, immediately jumps to +5V, B remains at 10V and C jumps to +15V.

Then the voltages at Point A slowly rise above 5V to 10V and Point C drops from 15V back to 10V, so there is 10V everywhere as expected.

Offline wasedadoc

• Super Contributor
Re: Basic voltage question in circuit.
« Reply #1 on: May 15, 2023, 11:48:05 am »
Capacitors resist change in voltage across them.  They try to keep the voltage across themselves from changing.  The larger the capacitance value the more they slow down the change in voltage.

With the switch closed the capacitor charges up to 10 Volts.  Its bottom end is at 0 Volts.  You open the switch and its bottom end is only connected to the 1k resistor.  That is now at a higher voltage than 0.  So the top side of the capacitor jumps up.

The following users thanked this post: .RC.

Online .RC.Topic starter

• Frequent Contributor
« Reply #2 on: May 15, 2023, 12:04:48 pm »