Author Topic: Battery discharge rates for typical Alkaline and Lithium batteries  (Read 1237 times)

Offline cardinalsTopic starter

Newbie here, so sorry if this topic has been already addressed in the forums and I have missed it. I did several searches and couldn’t turn anything up. If I missed it, please point me to the right thread and I’ll gladly go there.

I have come across a few forums on flashlights where folks claiming EE knowledge claim that any charge put through a typical AA lithium or alkaline battery will accelerate the battery’s discharge rate. They describe the decline as different than the self-discharge rate of unused batteries and ‘circuit drain’ caused by some devices.

The claim made on the forums would seem to agree with many people’s perceived experience: the big battery companies claim their batteries will last 10 years in the package on a shelf, but those same batteries sitting in an unused flashlight seem to be dead within a year or two. (Of course circuit drain could be the culprit there).

My question is, does anyone know if a battery’s self-discharge curve steepens after a battery is used even once? If so, does the simple act of ‘testing’ new batteries placed in a flashlight doom them to an early demise (like 2-3 yrs vs. 10?)

I figure I can test the claim by taking 2 fresh batteries, ‘testing’ one for a moment in a device, removing it, and then waiting ~6 mos and measuring the remaining capacity in both batteries, but I was hoping to find something more reliable than my own test. Also perhaps an explanation of what causes the accelerated decline, if it is in fact, real.

Thanks for any insights! 

Offline saturation

• Super Contributor
  • Doveryai, no proveryai
    • NIST
Re: Battery discharge rates for typical Alkaline and Lithium batteries
« Reply #1 on: March 12, 2017, 01:40:13 am »