Author Topic: Beginner desolder complete mess :(  (Read 6316 times)

Offline HobGoblynTopic starter

• Supporter
Beginner desolder complete mess :(
« on: April 12, 2020, 02:54:59 pm »
Not sure if to put here on the repair section, but as I'm a beginner.....

Probably the worst desoldering disaster ever.

Trying to replace HDMI port on Playstation 4. 

Unfortunately I've managed to completely screwup the pads (taken a pic the best I can through my miscroscope).

Should have started on something less important for my first actual repair :(

Am I screwed?  Every pad is lifted (floating around) but still connected, 3 pads are missing, I'm hoping they are not used.

Any advice please (yes I know I seriously screwed up and it's a right mess)

Many thanks

Offline ratatax

• Regular Contributor
Re: Beginner desolder complete mess :(
« Reply #1 on: April 12, 2020, 03:58:34 pm »
I would remove completely any damaged pads, solder the new connector to the remaining pads, then gently scratch the traces going to the removed pads to expose copper and solder thin wires directly from the connector pins to the traces.

What's your soldering iron ? You need it regulated under 400°C and good flux to have any chances to make a decent job

The following users thanked this post: HobGoblyn

Offline NivagSwerdna

• Super Contributor
« Reply #2 on: April 12, 2020, 04:07:46 pm »
Too hot!  Not enough flux.

If you are in a hole... stop digging!

Looks repairable since the majority of pins still are present... but maybe it's reached the point where it might be worth paying someone who does these regularly.

• Supporter
« Reply #3 on: April 12, 2020, 05:08:45 pm »
Thanks

I've got a Hakko FX888D.

I've got TOPNIK TK83 flux, I put a fair amount on, but it's a liquid flux rather than the gel youtube vids seem to use.

I have enamelled wire. have seen a couple of youtube vids on this exact problem, so will give it a go and see how I go.