Author Topic: Beginner here, Help me buy a good soldering iron.  (Read 5682 times)

Offline l3gi0nTopic starter

• Regular Contributor
Beginner here, Help me buy a good soldering iron.
« on: September 18, 2021, 10:17:55 pm »
I am a beginner and I am looking to buy a good soldering iron.

Here are the things that I want to do:

(1) Repair PS2 controllers: Change the ribbon sheet connector that has very thin legs.
(2) Repair PS3 consoles, change NEC Tokin caps with other types of caps.
(3) Repair/Re-cable headphones.

Here is the soldering kit that I have. I bought it for cheap. I think this is not the ideal iron: https://www.amazon.ca/gp/product/B01N46T138/ref=ppx_yo_dt_b_search_asin_title?ie=UTF8&psc=1

Here are the soldering irons that I am considering:

(1) Weller WLC100
(2) Hakko FX888D
(3) KSGER T12 V2.1S

Which one should I go for ? Any other recommendations in the same price range ?

Online Doctorandus_P

• Super Contributor
Re: Beginner here, Help me buy a good soldering iron.
« Reply #1 on: September 18, 2021, 10:39:00 pm »
I would go with a T12 clone such as the KSGER, especially if your on a limited budget.
You do have to factor in that it runs on 12 to 24V and have to add a power supply. But it can be a laptop brick or even just an extra plug you make on your lab power supply. (maybe with extra small SMPS module)

Don't buy the cheapest handle for a T12 clone. There are multiple variants, the very cheap ones are garbage, for about EUR10 to EUR15 you have a decent handle.

An orignal Hakko probably has longer tip life and a bit better build quality.
With a T12 clone however, you can get a lot of different tip sizes for cheap, and they last quite a while. When the tip sizes you use most wear out, then you can consider buying better quality tips for those.