Author Topic: Beginner here: how to start with PIC micros? PICKIT 3 or 4 or Mplab snap?  (Read 4722 times)

Offline iamericminTopic starter

• Contributor
Hi y'all,

I'm a teenager looking to start with PIC microcontrollers. I have absolutely no prior experience with them. I have fiddled with AVRs and the Arduino ecosystem a bit but I want to start actual embedded design without any layers of abstraction. The PIC seems a nice cheap starting point, and after a bit of googling I believe the PIC16f1829 is a great starter chip. However, I have a few specific questions.

1) should I buy the PICKIT 4 or 3 or MPLab Snap? They all seem like solid choices and I believe the 4 is still in a developmental stage. I don't think it fully supports the 16F1829.

2) Is the 16F1829 a good starting point? Everyone else seems to be recommending the 16F877a but I don't like the giant DIL-40 package and the 16F1829 has slightly better specs.

Thank you all!

Offline stoyanoff

• Contributor
Re: Beginner here: how to start with PIC micros? PICKIT 3 or 4 or Mplab snap?
« Reply #1 on: September 22, 2019, 06:45:27 pm »
Hi! I have PICkit 3(original) and it works fine. They say PICkit 4 is much faster, but I haven`t tried it yet! For start you can buy a PICkit 3 clone form aliexpress if you like - it will perform as the original!
I`m uploading a book for beginers! It`s used something called CCS compiler. It is fine for begginers because most of the functions are ready and you just have to use them - it is no neccessary to know exactly which bit of which register you have to set or how exactly to do it. The compiler will do it for you! You should know this compiler has a lot of bugs. I prefer XC8, XC16 and XC32 with MPLab. But I don`t have begginers book for them.