Author Topic: Beginners Function Generator / Signal Generator?  (Read 4027 times)

Offline cincinTopic starter

• Regular Contributor
Beginners Function Generator / Signal Generator?
« on: February 04, 2023, 01:23:27 am »
I'm looking into buying my first function generator, and I have no idea what to get.

My needs are very simple, I think. I'm a beginner at electronics repairs, I'm mostly working on vintage synthesizers, guitar amps, drum machines, audio effect units, right now; but I'm interested in learning more about it all and expanding my skills.

What I need out of a function generator at the moment is simply a clean signal that I can then trace around audio circuits to find the source of noise, distortion, etc. I don't yet know why I might later need a 100Mhz signal, or an am/fm modulated signal, or a really strong amplitude.

So a little guidance would be appreciated.

In my shopping so far I've found:

- A used 1987 Dick Smith Function Generator $40cad
10 Hz to 170kHz in three ranges
2 .5 volts peak 10 peak
amplitude stability of .1 dB
Sine, square, and triangle wave forms

- A new KKMoon Chinese AliExpress special $140
Comes in 20Mhz, 60Mhz, and 100Mhz, which one?
Specs here: https://rb.gy/iriuxe

I'm trying to do this on the cheap, but not if I will invariably have to buy again later.

Any advice for a signal noob?

Offline james_s

• Super Contributor
Re: Beginners Function Generator / Signal Generator?
« Reply #1 on: February 04, 2023, 01:35:35 am »
For the needs you mention, one of the many different brands of analog function generators from the 70s-80s would probably serve you well. I haven't looked lately but it used to be easy to find them for around $50 or less. BK Precision, Protek, HP, etc, loads of different companies made them, most had similar capabilities.

If you want to spend a bit more and don't mind Chinese stuff, I've heard good things about the FY6900.

The following users thanked this post: cincin

Online MathWizard