Author Topic: Best Oscilloscope for complete beginner?  (Read 17331 times)

Offline David Cutcher CEGTopic starter

• Contributor
Best Oscilloscope for complete beginner?
« on: April 18, 2019, 05:04:18 pm »
I am developing an online course, for the complete beginner.
In the second module, as I introduce digital, I also introduce an oscillating circuit and oscilloscopes to visualize what's happening. In my book, Electronic Circuits for the Evil Genius 2nd ed 2010 -  I use an online freeware and we build our own probe.
BUT . .  . prices and size have plummeted. Now some scopes are less expensive than an adequate soldering station.
What can this audience recommend - for beginners, introducing concepts,  ideally 2 channel. Inexpensive.
Discussion ended up with GYRO referring me to this EEVBLAB
https://www.eevblog.com/forum/testgear/owon-vds1022i-quick-teardown-(versus-the-hantek-6022be)/
all about the OWON VDS1022i. Looks good.
And I've ordered one.
David Cutcher "Certified Evil Genius"
« Last Edit: April 19, 2019, 06:47:52 am by David Cutcher CEG »

Offline rstofer

• Super Contributor
Re: Best Oscilloscope for complete beginner?
« Reply #1 on: April 18, 2019, 05:50:49 pm »
This is debated every week, give or take a couple of days.  Here in the Beginner's forum and also in the Test Equipment forum.

The Rigol DS1054Z usually heads the list as it is more mature but the Siglent 1104X-E is gaining ground.  Personally, I would look at the 200 MHz version, the 1204X-E but it is expensive.  The 1104X-E can be unlocked to get 200 MHz bandwidth, details elsewhere.

I have the Rigol and it works fine for me.  There are complaints about the speed of the UI (and they're valid) but I don't spend all that much time twiddling knobs compared to watching the display.  So what if I save 50% time on a 1% operation?

The Siglent is supposed to be much more responsive but I don't have one.

However...