Author Topic: BGA reball, why do you need a preheater?  (Read 6771 times)

Offline u666saTopic starter

• Regular Contributor
BGA reball, why do you need a preheater?
« on: March 07, 2014, 07:33:17 pm »
Help a complete newb please  :palm:

Let's say we want to reball a BGA, video chip on laptop motherboard, and we have this Aoyue 2703A+ hot air station with proper sized nozzle and an automate feature with 5 segment profile for the hot air gun.  What will happen if I just use that station to take off chip, clean it up, reball using a proper kit, and then solder it back?  Will it work just fine?

Why would I need a preheater?

Can I do it without a preheater?

Offline ert829

Re: BGA reball, why do you need a preheater?
« Reply #1 on: March 07, 2014, 08:04:40 pm »
For what it is worth, here is my experience....I put a circuit board from a computer monitor (whose BGA re-scaler chip lost good electrical connection) in my kitchen oven at 375F for 8 minutes. After re-install, the original screen blinking problem went away. (for 2+ months so far!)  No preheat of board/chip, I just turned on the oven and when it hit 375F, I put my board in and waited 8 minutes.  I removed the board and let it cool down before re-installing.  No reballing.  Pretty crude, but it worked.

Anectdote...The problem was caused by the large amount of heat generated by the monitor's built in power supply.  It is a 30 inch monitor, so it generated a lot of heat.  I left the back cover of the monitor off, so the heat now easily escapes.  Others who reflowed their scaler chips in the kitchen oven, but put the monitor back cover back on had their re-scaler chip separate again.  I also put a heat sink in the rescaler chip (with double sided thermal tape) and attached a usb powered fan.  The heat sink doesn't even get warm, so I think it is probably unnecessary.  Just leaving the cover off (faces the wall) seems to have solved the problem.

Online Rasz

• Super Contributor
    • My random blog.