Author Topic: Book Recommendations?  (Read 3438 times)

Offline C.Cole95Topic starter

Book Recommendations?
« on: August 08, 2018, 09:20:42 am »
I'm an Advanced Aviation Electronics Technician in the Marines with 5 years experience of work and 6 months of in-depth, fast-paced schooling. I may not exactly be considered a "newbie", however, the knowledge I gained is very specific towards the gear I work on. As I begin my transition out of the Marine Corps, I want to dig deeper into electronics itself. I'm not getting the job satisfaction I would like when it comes to electronics so it's time to move on in my career. I am currently reading Electroncis for Dummies and will follow it up with Circuit Analysis for Dummies to refresh my memory and actually learn more about electronics circuits and how it all works. Whenever I watch an electronics video or read a book it seems as though I don't understand anything and as if I'm back at square one knowledge wise, which is why I'm coming into this all with the newbie attitude. So with that being said, does anyone have any other recommendations of books to read? I'm not looking for any specific knowledge per say, so any and all book recommendations about all electronic subjects are welcome :)

Online agehall

• Frequent Contributor
Re: Book Recommendations?
« Reply #1 on: August 08, 2018, 09:36:21 am »

Offline rstofer

• Super Contributor
« Reply #2 on: August 08, 2018, 02:11:41 pm »
I haven't seen those "... For Dummies" books but they will probably cover the basics.

You can go a long way in electronics with just a couple of ideas:  Ohm's Law and Kirchhoff's Laws.  OK, toss in Thevenin's Theorem and Norton's Theorem.  I know, everybody KNOWS Ohm's Law -> E = I * R. Simple.  But it applies to so many electronics circuits in ways that are not always obvious that I include it here anyway.  The number of newbie questions that come up around here that can be answered just using Ohm's Law is enlightening.