Author Topic: Brand new to scopes - Hantek 6022BL has square waves with nothing connected?  (Read 1889 times)

Offline rawrsTopic starter

• Contributor
Hi guys,

I'm brand new to oscilloscopes, and still fairly new to electronics. I've only used oscilloscopes a couple of times in my entire life, and it was an old Rigol unit at Hackerspace. Yesterday I found a brand new (plugged in once or twice) Hantek 6022BL scope one suburb away from me, and I couldn't help biting the bullet and buying it.

After installing the standard software, I plugged the probe into the cal port, and it looked like it was giving a perfect 1MHz square wave, with 5v P-P. Only a... couple of problems with this.

Problem the first: that calibration terminal spits out 1KHz, not 1MHz. And it's 2v peak-to-peak, not 5v. ...and it will produce these square waves, on both channels, with nothing connected. There is nothing on the BNC's at all. I've been tearing my hair out all night, and all morning, trying to get this thing to do something meaningful, and I've reinstalled drivers countless times. Also, probing the points with a multimeter produces no meaninfgul results, either.

I tried to install OpenHantek, which fails with the following error:

Code: [Select]
libpng warning: iCCP: known incorrect sRGB profile
Which is a very weirdo error to be getting for an oscilloscope program. I tried throwing software at the problem to make it go away, but to no avail. I did manage to wrap my tiny mind around sigrok/PulseView, though, and the driver does work, and it seems to upload the correct firmware when the scope starts. It seems to, but I honestly don't know. I'm brand new to scopes, and I have no idea what's going on here.