Author Topic: Building my First DC Power Supply - Planning on using a Riden RD6024  (Read 1744 times)

Offline Finger MulletTopic starter

Ok, first off I'm a thermodynamic engineer not electrical and I am a manager for a manufacturer of pollution control equipment for power plants, factories and such .  I can read a wiring diagram, well somewhat, I got electrical guys for that and we do build control panels for our equipment.  My job is to make sure our equipment will work for our customer both thermodynamically and chemically for emissions.

Now this has nothing to do with work, I want to make a nice hobby DC power supply.  I don't even own an oscilloscope yet.  I have seen several threads on this forum about this RD6024 and variations of it.  But the discussions are way beyond my skill set and it seemed inappropriate to ask my simple questions on one of those threads.  So here we go.

I just recently ordered a RD6024, no box or power supply. It is enroute from China and I am supposed to get it in a couple weeks. So I need to get a power supply, been looking at a ZJIVNV 1500w power supply, seems decent. It is on Amazon right now for $135, link below. The two obvious choices seem to be what they claim to be the 60v/25a and the 72v/20a, yeah their math for watts is not spot on. Both types claim to be adjustable +/- up to 15% on the volts. Which way would you go, I'm leaning to the 72v and adjust it down a bit....I assume the Watts would remain constant and the potential amps would go up a bit, turning it down to say 68v.

https://www.amazon.com/ZJIVNV-Switching-Supply-Output-110VAC/dp/B0BC9L1NB3/ref=sr_1_3?m=A3TFTZ88F034WN&marketplaceID=ATVPDKIKX0DER&qid=1677972093&s=merchant-items&sr=1-3&ufe=app_do%3Aamzn1.fos.f5122f16-c3e8-4386-bf32-63e904010ad0&th=1