Author Topic: C pointer confusion on char arrays  (Read 2846 times)

Offline Kosmic

• Super Contributor
Re: C pointer confusion on char arrays
« Reply #25 on: December 03, 2023, 04:28:19 pm »
Hehe, I have a master degree and more than 20 years exp as a professional programmer mostly in C++ but also C and C#. Trust me I don't lack knowledge  ;)

if you wanted to impress me with this, your attempt is failed. I got master degree with honors in Computer Science (software development of automation systems) 20 years ago, before that I also get bachelor degree in computer electronics. I wrote first C program at about 1992, and learned C++ at about 1994. Most of the time I worked as software development engineer in medical devices industry for a company which was in a top 5 of fortune 500 list.

As you probably understand this is much more strict than usual programming, because it requires additional knowledge of software development lifecycle and medical standards certification (ISO13485 etc) with regular examination to be allowed to work on medical devices projects. If you know requirements for medical devices and software systems used in cardiology surgery and cardiopulmonary resuscitation, then you can understand why it uses so strong requirements for development process and this is what I worked on. And what? ;)

No, I have no need to impress anyone. I'm far passed that point in my career. I was trying to answer your "lack of knowledge" assumption.

Automatic memory management is core to C# design. By completely bypassing it all the time you can't really say you are using the language correctly. If you need or want to manually manage memory that much you should use something else. Like C++. Would be a lot more efficient.

Offline Kosmic

• Super Contributor
« Reply #26 on: December 03, 2023, 04:33:18 pm »
Why not simply using C++ then ?