Author Topic: Your Very First Project  (Read 8322 times)

Offline JohnnyGTopic starter

Your Very First Project
« on: January 08, 2012, 06:12:44 am »
Hello,

I am new to DIY; although, I am a recent EE grad. I was just wondering: what is everyone's first electronics project?

By first project, I mean first cct that was designed by yourself, and not just soldered together from schematics on the internet. I am fascinated by all the projects on this blog, but I need a good place to start. Also, if you mention a project, could you point me towards any articles that helped you get started?

In school, I specialized in electromagnetics, but I am interested in all sorts of audio/musical devices. Please feel free however to post your first project even if it doesn't fit in these fields!

Thank you for any help!

John

Offline Rerouter

• Super Contributor
  • Question Everything... Except This Statement
Re: Your Very First Project
« Reply #1 on: January 08, 2012, 06:21:14 am »
first one i made on my own, (not using a pre-exisitng schematic) was a little display board i made up for my hard drive controller card, so that it displayed when each was reading / writing, and tripped a buzzer and turned the faulted drives led to solid if one (or more) failed

kinda basic, and i never got it perfect for me (wanted to add a test function where it held all the leds on) but was my first,

Online IanB

• Super Contributor
« Reply #2 on: January 08, 2012, 08:16:57 am »
How did you avoid doing a design project as part of your EE degree?

Offline JohnnyGTopic starter

« Reply #3 on: January 08, 2012, 08:42:26 am »
How did you avoid doing a design project as part of your EE degree?

--> Surface plasmon resonance biosensor (electromagnetics project)

Offline metalphreak

• Frequent Contributor
  • http://d.av.id.au
    • D.av.id.AU
« Reply #4 on: January 08, 2012, 11:46:30 am »