Author Topic: Can I control a transformer with an SSR  (Read 3732 times)

Offline mahmood.sajTopic starter

• Contributor
Can I control a transformer with an SSR
« on: December 10, 2022, 08:12:37 am »
Hi everyone.

Goal:
Creating a required pulse to change the pool light color

Background:
I am new to electronics and this forum.
I have a multi color pool light which has 2 wires only, based on the documentation with a single pulse I should be able to send a color command.
for example disconnecting the power for 180ms means blue, or disconnecting for 240ms means green.
The pool light luminaire firmware requires accurately defined durations of power absences in the range 80ms ~ 1440ms.
another example for dimming:
- Break power for 120ms (+/-20ms).
- One second (+/-0.3s) after power has been restored at the end of this break, break the power again for 510ms (+/-40ms).

The pool light is using 12V and it has a dedicated transformer.
and this is the regulation and rule that I need to follow:
Do not attempt to control the secondary (SELV) outputs of the pool lighting transformers. This would be viewed as a breach of safe wiring
practices for pool lighting.

So the final diagram should be something like:

AC power outlet --->--- The control circuit what I need to build ------->--------Transformer ----->---- pool light

Requirements:
- The control circuit needs to disconnect the power for specific amount of time
- It should not destroy Transformer
- The pulse should be received by pool light

What did I do so far:
I decide to use SSR and ESP32 devkit v4. Also there is a logic level converter to convert 3.3V of ESP32 to 5V which required by my SSR
SSR: KSI240 Series Single Phase AC Output Please find the spec PDF attached

Please find the circuit digram attached.
The 2 set of 6 pins at the middle of diagram are reserved for Logic-Level-Converter
A 240V to 5V 2Amp adaptor used as power source of the entire system.
Output switches are connected to SSR